Award Winning Science Fiction Author, Eric Flint, Named as Judge for Worldwide Writers Contest

October 8, 2009

HOLLYWOOD, Calif., Oct. 8 /PRNewswire/ — Award winning science fiction and fantasy author, Eric Flint has been named as a judge in the highly acclaimed L. Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future Contest, it was announced by Author Services, Inc., the literary agency and administrator of the Contest.

Now in its 26th year, the Writers of the Future Contest awards annual cash prizes totaling $30,000 for writers and illustrators of never-before-published works of science fiction and fantasy. It includes annual publication of the year’s winning stories in the anthology titled L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future. (Galaxy Press).

When approached to be judge for the contest, Flint simply stated, “This contest is important to me because it’s the way my own writing career got started.” He was a winner in 1993 and has published dozens of novels, most noteworthy is his 1632 series and he has also collaborated with the likes of K.D. Wentworth and David Drake.

And so he is warmly welcomed into the ranks of contest judges for Writers of the Future that includes other notable science fiction authors such as Kevin J. Anderson, Orson Scott Card, Anne McCaffrey, Larry Niven, Frederik Pohl, Jerry Pournelle, Tim Powers, Robert J. Sawyer, Robert Silverberg, Sean Williams and Dave Wolverton.

The Writers of the Future Contest was established by L. Ron Hubbard in 1983 to discover and provide talented new and aspiring writers of science fiction and fantasy a chance to have their work seen and acknowledged.

For more information about the Contest, go to www.writersofthefuture.com.

SOURCE Writers of the Future

Source: newswire

comments powered by Disqus