The Sports Network Announces Eddie Robinson Award Candidates

November 24, 2009

PHILADELPHIA, Nov. 24 /PRNewswire/ — Twenty candidates, including three former winners, were named Monday to The Sports Network’s Eddie Robinson Award ballot.

That listing, along with ballots for the Walter Payton and Buck Buchanan awards, were released and distributed to voters on Monday. Voting will be conducted this week and winners will be announced on Thursday, Dec. 17 during the 23rd annual Sports Network awards dinner at the Marriott Hotel in Chattanooga, TN, the night before the NCAA Division I Football Championship game.

Andy Talley, the 1997 Robinson Award winner, led Villanova to a 10-1 record, the automatic bid to the playoffs from the Colonial Athletic Association and the No. 2 seed in the NCAA Division I Football Championships and is one of three former winners up for this year’s award.

Jerry Moore, the coach of the 2005-07 national champion Appalachian State Mountaineers and the 2006 Robinson Award winner, guided ASU (9-2) to its fifth consecutive Southern Conference championship and fifth consecutive playoff berth.

Pete Lembo of Elon, who won the 2001 Robinson Award when he was a first-year coach at Lehigh, led the Phoenix (8-3) to the playoffs for the first time in their FCS history and is looking to become the first coach to win the award at two different schools.

Mike London, the coach of the defending national champion Richmond Spiders, is among the seven first-time candidates on the ballot, along with Beau Baldwin of Eastern Washington, Bob Biggs of UC-Davis, Tom Gilmore of Holy Cross, J.C. Harper of Stephen F. Austin, Jeff McInerney of Central Connecticut State and Jeff Vorris of Butler.

Other candidates include Al Bagnoli of Penn, Henry Frazier III of Prairie View, Bobby Hauck of Montana, Jimmye Laycock of William & Mary, Dale Lennon of Southern Illinois, Buddy Pough of South Carolina State, Danny Rocco of Liberty, Bob Spoo of Eastern Illinois, John Stiegelmeier of South Dakota State and Matt Viator of McNeese State.

The Sports Network established the Eddie Robinson Award in 1987. Past recipients of this prestigious honor include current FCS coaches, Jerry Moore of Appalachian State, Northern Iowa skipper Mark Farley, New Hampshire’s Sean McDonnell, Villanova’s Andy Talley, Mike Ayers of Wofford and Elon’s Pete Lembo.

SOURCE The Sports Network

Source: newswire

comments powered by Disqus