The Sports Network Announces Walter Payton Award Candidates

November 24, 2009

PHILADELPHIA, Nov. 24 /PRNewswire/ — Appalachian State quarterback Armanti Edwards, the defending Payton Award winner, was among the 20 candidates named to the 2009 Walter Payton Award ballot on Monday.

Edwards is trying to become the first two-time winner of the Payton Award.

That listing, along with ballots for the Eddie Robinson and Buck Buchanan awards, were released and distributed to voters on Monday. Voting will be conducted this week and winners will be announced on Thursday, Dec. 17 during the 23nd annual Sports Network awards dinner at the Marriott Hotel in Chattanooga, TN, the night before the NCAA Division I Football Championship game.

The ballot had three additions to the final watch list: Central Connecticut State running back James Mallory, Northern Arizona quarterback Michael Herrick and Stephen F. Austin quarterback Jeremy Moses.

Two three-time Payton finalists, Elon wide receiver Terrell Hudgins and Holy Cross quarterback Dominic Randolph are also on the ballot. Andre Roberts of The Citadel joins Hudgins as the only receivers on the ballot.

The final ballot includes six other quarterbacks: Pat Devlin of Delaware, Pat Grace of Northern Iowa, Cameron Higgins of Weber State, Bryant Lee of Southern, Matt Nichols of Eastern Washington, Ryan Perrilloux of Jacksonville State and Curtis Pulley of Florida A&M.

There are six other running backs on the list, including Will Ford of South Carolina State, Deji Karim of Southern Illinois, Toddrick Pendland of McNeese State, Chase Reynolds of Montana, David Sinisi of Monmouth and Trevyn Smith of McNeese State.

The Walter Payton Award was established in 1987 by The Sports Network and previous winners of the honor include current NFL players such as Dallas Cowboys quarterback Tony Romo (2002, Eastern Illinois) and Philadelphia Eagles running back Brian Westbrook (2001, Villanova), and former Tennessee Titans and Baltimore Ravens quarterback Steve McNair (1994, Alcorn State).

SOURCE The Sports Network

Source: newswire

comments powered by Disqus