International 3D Society Announces Board

June 30, 2010

LOS ANGELES, June 30 /PRNewswire/ — The International 3D Society announced today its Board of Governors, and elected its Executive Committee for fiscal year 2010-2011.

Buzz Hays was named Chair and Jim Mainard Chair-Elect. Hays is Executive Stereoscopic 3D Producer of Sony 3D Technology Center, Sony Corporation of America; Mainard is Head of Production Development at DreamWorks Animation (DWA).

Lenny Lipton will serve as Vice Chair of the Executive Committee; he is President, Oculus 3D. Jeannine Patton is First Vice Chair/Secretary; she is Vice President and General Manager of Panasonic Hollywood Lab, Panasonic Corporation of North America. David Shackley, Senior Vice President, Discovery Communications and Jim Chabin, President of the Society, will also serve on the Executive Committee.

The International 3D Society provides community, education, and recognition to its membership and is dedicated to the advancement of Stereoscopic 3D arts and technology.

Hays congratulated the membership on the progress the organization has made over the past year, noting, “The Society has established a regular educational program, achieved a core membership, and now, with the contributions of the full board of governors, we can move forward together as a community of 3D professionals.”

“The leadership of the International 3D Society is now finalized for the upcoming year, and their resources and expertise will extend our programs in 3D education,” added Jim Chabin. “These leaders are admired by 3D professionals everywhere, and they are recognized as peers and mentors within the Society. We truly appreciate the support and guidance provided by our Board of Governors.”

The International 3D Society Board of Governors and its general membership span the growing stereoscopic industry, with representatives from the major studios, in home, producers, technology suppliers, exhibitors, and distributors. A complete list of board members follows.

The Society is the producer of the 3D Technology Awards on October 5, as well as educational programs throughout the year, including the 3D University series starting July 17 at The Walt Disney Studios.

International 3D Society sponsors include Signature Sponsor XpanD and Founding Sponsors MasterImage 3D, Panasonic Hollywood Lab, DreamWorks Animation (DWA), Dolby, IMAX, and Member Sponsor, Discovery Communications. For membership or information, please visit www.international3dsociety.com .

The International 3D Society Board of Governors for 2010-2011 are:

    Board Seat
                           The Walt Disney
    Jason Brenek           Studios
                           Senior Vice
                           Worldwide Digital
                           Cinema and Cinema
                           Vice President of
    Martin Sansing         Strategy
    Sandy Climan          3ality Digital
    Maria Costeira        XpanD
    Peter Dobson          Mann Theatres
                           Sony Pictures
    Rob Engle              Imageworks
                           3D Visual Effects
    Greg Foster           IMAX
                           Chairman and
                           Dolby Laboratories,
    Ron Geller             Inc.
                           Vice President,
                           Worldwide Content
    Charlotte Huggins     Salient Features
    Peter Koplik          MasterImage 3D
                           Executive Vice
    Brian Lenz            BSkyB
                           Director, Product
                           Design & TV
    Mike Polydoros        Lionsgate
                           EVP of Exhibitor
    Kurt Schwenk          Paramount Pictures,
                           VP of Post
                           National Geographic
    Lisa Truitt            Cinema Ventures

SOURCE International 3D Society

Source: newswire

comments powered by Disqus