Brown, Eachus, Presley and Therriault Join Payton Award Watch List

October 4, 2010

PHILADELPHIA, Oct. 4 /PRNewswire/ — (Sports Network) – The early season play of junior quarterbacks Mike Brown of Liberty, DeAndre Presley of Appalachian State and Casey Therriault of Jackson State, and junior running back Nate Eachus of Colgate has led to their joining the race for the 2010 Walter Payton Award, sponsored by Fathead.com.

A 20-player Watch List will be pared to the winner of the Football Championship Subdivision’s top individual honor. The Payton Award is in its 24th season and will be presented at the national awards banquet on Thursday, Jan. 6 in Frisco, Texas – the night before the national championship game.

Brown, 6 feet, 205 pounds, is ranked second in the FCS in total offense (314.6 ypg) through games of October 2 and has a combined 13 rushing and passing touchdowns. He had 363 yards of total offense (276 passing, 87 rushing) when the Flames defeated Ball State of the Football Bowl Subdivision.

Presley, 5-11, 170, has enjoyed an electrifying start to Appalachian State’s season, replacing Armanti Edwards, the first two-time Walter Payton Award winner. Through four games, Presley has thrown for 896 yards and eight touchdowns without an interception, while rushing for 280 yards and five touchdowns.

Therriault, 6-3, 205, leads the FCS in passing yards (360.5 ypg) and total offense (370.3 ypg), throwing for 1,442 yards and 12 touchdowns through four games. The junior college transfer has thrown for over 300 yards in each game, including 404 against Delta State.

Eachus, 5-10, 216, has rushed for an FCS-leading 160 yards per game through Oct. 2. The workhorse’s big start to the season includes a dismantling of Georgetown, when he rushed for 214 yards and four touchdowns on 44 carries and had 54 receiving yards.

Joining Brown, Presley, Therriault and Eachus on the Payton Award Watch List are quarterbacks Thomas DeMarco of Old Dominion, Pat Devlin of Delaware, Michael Herrick of Northern Arizona, Cameron Higgins of Weber State, Jeremy Moses of Stephen F. Austin, Scott Riddle of Elon, Steve Valentino of Dayton and Chris Whitney of Villanova; running backs Chris Evans of Samford, Jonathan Grimes of William & Mary, Taiwan Jones of Eastern Washington, Kyle Minett of South Dakota State and Chase Reynolds of Montana; wide receivers Tysson Poots of Southern Utah and Matt Szczur of Villanova; and offensive tackle Ben Ijalana of Villanova.

The Payton Award Watch List can undergo a second revision on Oct. 25. Ballots will be sent to a panel of nearly 200 sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries after the regular season on Nov. 22.

Full bios of the Payton nominees are available on www.sportsnetwork.com.

About The Sports Network

The Sports Network (www.sportsnetwork.com), North America’s foremost international real-time sports wire service, furnishes a wide range of content on a 24/7 basis utilizing state-of-the-art technology that sets the tone and standard for the entire industry. From statistics to news, weather and injury reports to instant scores, branded product and gamecasts to photography and complete fantasy coverage data, radio or TV, print or Internet, mobile to signage, TSN leads the way.

About Fathead

Fathead is the leading brand in sports and entertainment graphic products. Fathead products give fans the opportunity to bring their favorite passion or inspiration to life. Fathead products include Fathead Customs, Fathead Jr., Fathead Tradeables, Fathead Skins, and Fathead’s flagship “Real Big:” the officially licensed life-size, hi-def wall graphics of professional athletes, animated heroes, entertainment characters, team helmets and logos. Fathead maintains license agreements with leading consumer brands across many industries and professional sports leagues. For more information, visit www.fathead.com.

SOURCE The Sports Network

Source: newswire

comments powered by Disqus