Quantcast

Grupo Salinas’ Fomento Cultural Is Proud to Present Works From Its Collection of Guillermo Kahlo Photographs in the Exhibit ‘Reporte Kahlo. Ciudad de Mexico, Cien Anos de Patrimonio,’ Which Will Open on October 14 in the Museo de la Ciudad de Mexico

October 13, 2010

MEXICO CITY, Oct. 13 /PRNewswire/ — Grupo Salinas and its cultural arm, Fomento Cultural Grupo Salinas (www.fomentoculturalgruposalinas.com.mx), present important works from its collection of Guillermo Kahlo photographs in the exhibit “Reporte Kahlo. Ciudad de Mexico, Cien Anos de Patrimonio.”

The exhibit opens October 14 in the Museo de la Ciudad de Mexico. It brings together a series of images that show monuments, buildings, and urban shots of Mexico City, as captured by Guillermo Kahlo around 1910 at the behest of President Porfirio Diaz.

Each photograph will be accompanied by a similar shot taken from the same angle by the contemporary photographer Rodrigo Vazquez, who utilized similar techniques and, in some cases, employed the same lighting that were used by Kahlo a hundred years ago. In order to do so, Vazquez used two of what were state of the art cameras manufactured at the beginning of the 20th century, which will also be on display as part of the exhibit.

The Grupo Salinas Cultural Promotion fund is an initiative of Mexican business leader Ricardo B. Salinas Pliego (www.ricardosalinas.com) aimed at promoting and supporting culture as a fundamental value of Mexican society.

The exhibit is being presented jointly with the Mexico City Department of Culture, the Museo de la Ciudad de Mexico, and the Grupo Salinas Cultural Promotion Fund and will be on display for about three months.

For further information, visit: www.fomentoculturalgruposalinas.com.mx and www.cultura.df.gob.mx

Company Profile

About Grupo Salinas

Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com) is a group of dynamic, fast growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating shareholder value, building the Mexican middle class, and improving society through excellence. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. These companies include: TV Azteca (www.tvazteca.com.mx; www.irtvazteca.com), Azteca America (www.aztecaamerica.com), Grupo Elektra (www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (www.bancoazteca.com.mx), Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx) and Grupo Iusacell (www.iusacell.com). Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings.

About Fomento Cultural Grupo Salinas

Fomento Cultural Grupo Salinas is an example of Ricardo B. Salinas Pliego’s commitment to support and promote culture as a fundamental value of Mexico. Since 2001, the fund has promoted the preservation of Mexico’s cultural heritage through projects that promote artistic creation, traditions and customs. It establishes alliances both inside and outside of Mexico so that Mexican art and history transcends borders to create bonds with new cultures.

For more information, visit: www.fomentoculturalgruposalinas.com.mx

Grupo Salinas International Press Contact:


    Daniel McCosh
    (5255) 1720-0059
    dmccosh@gruposalinas.com.mx

SOURCE Grupo Salinas; Fomento Cultural Grupo Salinas


Source: newswire



comments powered by Disqus