Quantcast

Grupo Salinas, Through Its Caminos de la Libertad Program, Organizes Press Freedom Forum Together with Consejo de la Prensa Peruana

March 17, 2011

LIMA, Peru, March 17, 2011 /PRNewswire/ — Grupo Salinas, a group of dynamic, fast-growing and technologically advanced companies deeply committed to the modernization of the countries in which they operate, founded by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas Pliego (www.ricardosalinas.com), is pleased to announce the press freedom forum “Que perdemos cuando se pierde la libertad de expresion” (What do we lose when press freedom is lost), held in Lima as part of its ongoing Caminos de la Libertad program to promote basic human liberties, especially in the Western Hemisphere.

The conference was held on Wednesday, March 16 in conjunction with the Consejo de la Prensa Peruana (CPP) media organization as an inauguration to the signing of the Principios de Lima commitment of presidential candidates to information access and press freedom.

The forum was inaugurated by Lima Mayor Susana Villaran and CPP President Luis Agois, and included a presentation by Caminos de la Libertad President Sergio Sarmiento. Panel presentations also included representatives from Grupo RPP, Prensa America Television, and CPP authorities Teresa Quiroz and Gustavo Mohme. The panel was moderated by CPP Executive Director Kela Leon.

The inauguration set the stage for the next-day accord, the Principios de Lima, which was signed by presidential candidates as Peru approaches upcoming elections.

For more information, visit: www.caminosdelalibertad.com.

Company Profile

Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com) is a group of dynamic, fast growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating shareholder value, building the Mexican middle class, and improving society through excellence. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. These companies include: Azteca (www.tvazteca.com.mx; www.irtvazteca.com), Azteca America (www.aztecaamerica.com), Grupo Elektra (www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (www.bancoazteca.com.mx), Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx) and Grupo Iusacell (www.iusacell.com). Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings.

International Press Contact: Daniel McCosh; (5255) 1720-0059; dmccosh@gruposalinas.com.mx

SOURCE Grupo Salinas; Caminos de la Libertad


Source: newswire



comments powered by Disqus