Simply Red’s ‘Farewell – Live In Concert At Sydney Opera House’ Marks the End of an Exceptional Career

March 30, 2011

HOLLYWOOD, Calif., March 30, 2011 /PRNewswire/ — In 2010, after 25 years of success, Mick Hucknall announced his decision to disband Simply Red and in 2011 took the band on a final tour of the world – a celebration of all that they have achieved, and a final farewell to the band’s many fans. To mark the end of Simply Red’s career, Capitol/EMI will release a concert album and film of one of the band’s final and most spectacular gigs on this tour, shot against the backdrop of the iconic Sydney Opera House. Titled ‘Farewell – Live In Concert At Sydney Opera House,’ the concert will be released on CD/DVD on May 17; the audio will be available for digital download on the same date.

This beautifully filmed concert features the band performing a host of their hits, spanning the length of their career, and is combined with an exclusive, previously unseen interview with Mick Hucknall.

The seeds of Simply Red were sown in Manchester in the early 1980s. Mick Hucknall had formed the punk band Frantic Elevators and, after they disbanded, he put the first Simply Red incarnation together. Simply Red introduced themselves to the world in 1985 with the hit single “Money’s Too Tight (To Mention),” a Valentine Brothers cover taken from their debut album ‘Picture Book’ which also featured the U.S. number one “Holding Back The Years.” They went on to release a further nine critically acclaimed and commercially successful studio albums, reaching sales of more than 50 million.

Propelled by Hucknall’s voice and passion, Simply Red are unique among their peers and have an ability to effortlessly glide between their own highly original material and totally exceptional covers of other people’s songs that suddenly become their own. During the course of their career, they played 1100 concerts and performed in front of more than eleven million people. They have been awarded three Brit Awards, two Ivor Novello Awards, the MOBO Special Achievement Award, and a World Music Award.


    SIMPLY RED: Farewell -Live In Concert At Sydney Opera House (CD/DVD;
     digital audio)
    CD/digital audio
    1. Out On The Range
    2. Your Mirror
    3. Heaven
    4. Enough
    5. For Your Babies
    6. You Make Me Feel Brand New
    7. If You Don't Know Me By Now
    8. It's Only Love
    9. Sunrise
    10. Come To My Aid
    11. The Right Thing
    12. Money's Too Tight (To Mention)
    13. Stars
    14. Fairground
    15. Something Got Me Started
    16. Holding Back The Years
    1. Out On The Range
    2. Your Mirror
    3. Jericho
    4. Heaven
    5. To Be With You
    6. Enough
    7. For Your Babies
    8. You Make Me Feel Brand New
    9. If You Don't Know Me By Now
    10. It's Only Love
    11. Sunrise
    12. Come To My Aid
    13. Fake
    14. The Right Thing
    15. Money's Too Tight (To Mention)
    16. Ain't That A Lot Of Love
    17. Stars
    18. Fairground
    19. Something Got Me Started
    20. Holding Back The Years


Source: newswire

comments powered by Disqus