July 7, 2011

U.S. Civil Rights Commission Announces Appointments to the Connecticut State Advisory Committee

WASHINGTON, July 7, 2011 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- Kimberly Tolhurst, Delegated the Authority of the Staff Director, has announced the appointment of 17 Connecticut citizens to its Connecticut State Advisory Committee.

(Logo: http://photos.prnewswire.com/prnh/20110524/DC08224LOGO )

The Commission appointed Jay A. Bergman of New Britain, Dove A. E. Burns of Wilton, Christine W. Corgel of Westport, Marilyn Ford of Hamden, Elizabeth I. Haynes of Hartford, John W. Herrington of South Windsor, Adelaide K. Jones of New Canaan, Brian J. Langdon of Monroe, Frederick W. McKinney of Trumbull, Ingrid L. Moll of West Hartford, Werner Oyanadel of Hartford, Melanie S. Rausch of Bethany, David W. Reynolds of Torrington, John M. Tanski of Glastonbury, Charles R. Venator-Santiago of Hartford, Margaret J. Young of Stratford, and Richard A. Wilson of West Hartford. Commissioners appointed Richard A. Wilson as chairman. Members are appointed are for two year terms and serve without compensation.

Congress has directed the Commission to establish state advisory committees (SACs) in all 50 states and the District of Columbia to study issues and forward advisory reports to the Commission on matters within the agency's jurisdiction that reflect the views of the majority of SAC members producing the report.

The SACs' reports to the Commission may rely on studies and data generated by third parties, which are not subject to an independent review by Commission staff. The views expressed in reports are those of a majority of the State Advisory Committee members and do not necessarily represent the views of the Commission or its individual members, nor do they represent the policies of the U.S. government.

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights is an independent, bipartisan agency charged with monitoring federal civil rights enforcement. Members include Chairman Martin Castro and Commissioners Roberta Achtenberg, Todd Gaziano, Gail Heriot, Peter Kirsanow, Abigail Thernstrom, Dina Titus and Michael Yaki. The Commission's website is http://www.usccr.gov.

Lenore Ostrowsky
Acting Chief, Public Affairs Unit
(202) 376-8591

SOURCE U.S. Commission on Civil Rights