July 12, 2011

22 Year Old UK Pop Sensation Katy B Debut Album ‘On A Mission’ Out September 13th

NEW YORK, July 12, 2011 /PRNewswire/ -- Columbia Records is proud to present the critically acclaimed UK pop singer Katy B's US debut album On A Mission to be released on September 13, 2011. The albums lead in single "Katy On A Mission" is now available on iTunes.

(Photo: http://photos.prnewswire.com/prnh/20110712/NY33849 )

On A Mission, released in the UK in April 2011, debuted at #2 on the charts, is certified Gold and included three Top 10 singles, "Katy On A Mission," "Lights On" and "Broken Record." At the young age of 22 no one would expect singer-songwriter Katy B to come out with such a powerful album. A fan of dance music ever since she was young, Katy B's combination of natural pop sass and uniquely powerful voice is ready to take on the U.S. by storm.

The press just can't stop raving about her. In May, Rolling Stone selected Katy as one of their "Artists to Watch" profiling the young singer's unique musical sound. "Katy B....has quickly made a name for herself as the first lady of UK dance," says Billboard, while The New York Times states "her soft voice turns a challenge into seduction," further to that point The Fader describes Katy as "Casually warm and brimming with girlish confidence, she is the embodiment of raving Britain grown up on neo-soul," Pitchfork agreed by giving On A Mission an 8.1 score saying that Katy is "...a genre-spanning pop singer who isn't tied down to a single thing."

From Peckham, South London comes a girl passionate for dance, songwriting and singing. The first bona fide pop star to emerge from the dubstep and UK funky underground clubs championed by Rinse FM, Katy B encapsulates the sound, spirit and unrestrained energy of British youth culture right now. Combining the rhythms of a currently resurgent UK underground club scene with a song writing ear for the vernacular and songs that celebrate being young, staying up far too late raving and falling for the wrong boys, she's a fresh new pop star.

Katy B made her U.S. live debut in New York City on June 6, 2011 as part of the Steve Madden Summer Music Series and left event goers wanting more. CosmoGirl raved of Katy's recent debut: "Just like Katy Perry and Lady Gaga, Katy B's songs are so good you won't be able to get them out of your head. It may not be long before she joins these artists on the top of the charts!" The Village Voice agreed saying "Katy, whose voice brings to mind freestyle divas as much as it does Aaliyah, soars over the fantastic pop amalgam created by her and her producers, which is stuffed with nods to dubstep, UK garage, funky, and other bits scavenged from the fringes of pop."

Look out for updates on Katy's US Fall Tour coming soon.

On A Mission tracklisting:

  1. Power On Me
  2. Katy On A Mission
  3. Why You Always Here
  4. Witches Brew
  5. Movement
  6. Go Away
  7. Disappear
  8. Broken Record
  9. Lights On
  10. Easy Please Me
  11. Perfect Stranger
  12. Hard To Get

"Katy On A Mission" video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HhgMg67hmSQ




SOURCE Columbia Records