July 28, 2011

Sixth Annual Sportsmanship Survey Reveals Nation’s Views….Worse Now Than Generation Ago

GLENVIEW, Ill., July 28, 2011 /PRNewswire/ -- Turns out the cliche' "those were the good old days" might not be too far off, according to sentiments revealed in the sixth annual Awards and Recognition Association (ARA) www.arasportsmanshipaward.com survey on the state of sportsmanship.

The 2011 survey of 1,000 Americans, fielded by TNS Worldwide, revealed that 71% percent of Americans believe that the state of sportsmanship is worse now, than when they were growing up. But, unlike the cliche, there's good news too, more than 80 percent of us want good sportsmanship to be rewarded.

"This has been a challenging year when it came to negative sports stories capturing headlines," said ARA Sportsmanship Award Committee Chair LaVell Edwards, award- and bowl-winning retired coach of Brigham Young University. Coach Edwards has chaired the Sportsmanship Award committee since its inception

"Now more than ever, I think people need to hear about the good stories out there--There are so many young players who exemplify what good sportsmanship is all about and that should be the focus. Players that live and breathe good sportsmanship are a positive influence on any team and, for younger athletes coming up through the ranks," adds Edwards.

With more than 80 percent of Americans wanting good acts to be rewarded, the ARA's mission has never been more important.

"The ARA has been polling Americans for six years to gauge sentiments on sportsmanship and most importantly, to see what we can do about it," said ARA President Guy Barone, Xenetech Global. The ARA Sportsmanship Award gives us an opportunity to reward positive role models."

ARA National Sportsmanship Award

The ARA Sportsmanship Award is the only national award that focuses exclusively on sportsmanship.

Past ARA Sportsmanship Award winners include: Carolina Panthers running back DeAngelo Williams in 2005; St. Louis Rams running back Brian Leonard in 2006; Washington State University quarterback Alex Brink in 2007 currently with the Winnipeg Blue Bombers in the CFL; Chicago Bears free agent and Northwestern Wildcat graduate, Eric Peterman in 2008; Kansas State University graduate Jeron Mastrud in 2009, currently with the Miami Dolphins, and Texas Longhorn defensive end and recent Arizona Cardinal pick Sam Acho in 2010.

SOURCE Awards and Recognition Association (ARA) www.arasportsmanshipaward.com