Quantcast
Last updated on April 17, 2014 at 21:23 EDT

NY Scientist Explores Death and Dreams in Fiction Collection

September 1, 2011

NEW YORK, Sept. 1, 2011 /PRNewswire-iReach/ — Scientist author J.J.Brown’s new book “Death and the Dream” is a short story collection with a scientific edge, available at major ebook retailers worldwide this week and soon to appear in paperback.

(Photo: http://photos.prnewswire.com/prnh/20110901/CG61466)

Brown’s 14 shortstories focus on death and dream states. Characters include students, scientists, murderers and New Yorkers living on the edges of society. In “Mouse Chimera” a scientist is locked in a lab with HIV-infected chimeric mice. It’s an experiment turned nightmare. In “Underground” a woman relives a subway suicide horror and the mystery of the victim’s identity. An estranged daughter enlists death in her bid to reclaimher family, in”Mother’s Love”. The author says, “Every tragic moment in life, from childhood to my days as a scientist in the research labs of New York City, can turn, unfold, and shape a story. This is how I deal with, and come to enjoy the strangeness of, my life experiences. I mean both the beauty and the horror.”

The book explores the line that divides sanity from insanity, reality from dream, life from death. J.J.Brown brings a scientist’s experience to realistic fiction with broad appeal. Wayne McEvilly, classical pianist, from Oklahoma City notes, “A sterling, evocative piece…luminous and transcending the physical objects.” Poet Costis Demos says of Brown’s stories, “Soft and smooth like a thin smoky line between sleeping and waking, or lingering undecided,” commenting from Athens, Greece. “About life, living and dying, forgiveness and divine justice,” says Kumud Ajmani, aerospace engineer from Ohio. Fiction author Courtney Cantrell comments, “Brown’s elegant writing evokes fascination and empathy while subtly challenging the reader to take an ethical stand. In the tradition of Robin Cook and Michael Crichton, she couches the scientist’s crisis of conscience in a narrative that touches the human soul.”

In storytelling, the author discovered a new way of looking at altered psychological states with this first book publication.

About JJBrown Author

J.J.Brown has worked in New York City for two decades as a scientist, author, educator and now publisher.Brown’s current authorsite and blogis http://www.jjbrownauthor.com.The author studied writing with South African poet Dennis Brutus and genetics with Nobel Laureate Barbara McClintock. The author has previously published in leading science journals includingProceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, Hepatology, and Genetics among others. “Death and the Dream” is the first fiction publication from JJBrown Author, with a novel due out later this year.

Media Contact: Jennifer Brown JJBrown Author, 718 710 2014, jjunebrown@gmail.com

News distributed by PR Newswire iReach: https://ireach.prnewswire.com

SOURCE JJBrown Author


Source: PR Newswire