December 7, 2005

Harrison, McHugh, O’Keeffe up for The Story Prize

NEW YORK (Reuters) - Works by Jim Harrison, Maureen McHugh
and Patrick O'Keeffe have been chosen as finalists for The
Story Prize award for books of short fiction, organizers said
on Wednesday.

Harrison was nominated for "The Summer He Didn't Die," a
collection of three novellas published by Atlantic Monthly

Author of four previous volumes of novellas, seven novels,
10 poetry collections, a children's book, and three works of
nonfiction, Harrison has won a National Endowment for the Arts
grant and a Guggenheim Fellowship, among other honors.

McHugh, best known for her science fiction novels, was
nominated for her collection of 13 stories, "Mothers & Other
Monsters," published by Small Beer Press.

McHugh's novels include "China Mountain Zhang," which won
the Tiptree, Lambda, and Locus Awards, and "Nekropolis," a New
York Times Editor's Choice.

The rural Irish village of Kilroan is the setting for four
long stories by O'Keeffe ranging in time from World War I to
the near present in his debut collection titled "The Hill Road"
and published by Viking.

O'Keeffe, who grew up on a dairy farm in rural Ireland,
earned a graduate fine arts degree from the University of
Michigan where he is currently a lecturer.

The Story Prize founder Julie Lindsey and director Larry
Dark selected the finalists from among 82 books.

The winner will be chosen by judges Andrea Barrett, a
National Book Award winner for short story collection "Ship's
Fever," Seattle-based librarian Nancy Pearl, and James Wood,
senior editor at The New Republic. The prize will be presented
at an awards ceremony at the New School on January 25, 2006.

The winning author will receive $20,000 and an engraved
silver bowl. Last year's inaugural winner of the prize was "The
Dew Breaker" by Edwidge Danticat (Alfred A. Knopf).