July 18, 2006

Arctic Monkeys, Yorke up for UK music honors

By Ray Bennett

LONDON (Hollywood Reporter) - Indie rock band Arctic
Monkeys, whose recent debut album was the fastest selling in
U.K. chart history, made the shortlist for the Mercury Award,
one of Britain's top music honors, organizers said Tuesday.

The prize, which has been awarded since 1992 by a committee
of industry representatives, honors 12 record albums produced
by British and Irish artists. This year's winner will be
announced during a ceremony September 5.

Other albums on the shortlist include Radiohead lead singer
Thom Yorke's solo release "The Eraser," current U.K.
chart-topper "Black Holes & Revelations" by Muse, "The Back
Room" by Editors, and "Through a Windowpane" by Guillemots.

Mercury panel chairman Simon Frith said in a statement,
"Above all, this year's shortlist is about the art of the
songwriter. If you want to know what life is like in Britain
today, listen to the country's musicians."

The judging panel's citation called the Arctic Monkeys
album "essential," adding, "Great songs astonishingly

In a statement, the Arctic Monkeys said: "We are really
pleased and grateful to have been nominated for the Mercury
Music Prize. It's been such an overwhelming year in every
respect and this is another really exciting thing to happen

The Mercury Prize is seen as an artistic alternative to the
more commercial Brit Awards with previous winners including
"Different Class" by Pulp, "Boy in Da Corner" by Dizzee Rascal,
and "The Hour of Bewilderbeast" by Badly Drawn Boy." Last
year's winner was "I am a Bird Now" by Antony and the Johnsons.

The shortlist for the Mercury Prize 2006 follows:

Arctic Monkeys -- "Whatever People Say I Am, That's What
I'm Not"

Isobel Campbell & Mark Lanegan -- "Ballad of the Broken

Editors -- "The Back Room"

Guillemots -- "Through the Windowpane"

Richard Hawley -- "Coles Corner"

Hot Chip -- "The Warning"

Muse -- "Black Holes & Revelations"

Zoe Rahman -- "Melting Pot"

Lou Rhodes -- "Beloved One"

Scritti Politti -- "White Bread Black Beer"

Sway -- "This is My Demo"

Thom Yorke -- "The Eraser"

Reuters/Hollywood Reporter