November 3, 2005

Greenspan, Ali to get Presidential Freedom Medal

MAR DEL PLATA, Argentina (Reuters) - President George W.
Bush on Thursday announced that Federal Reserve Chairman Alan
Greenspan and boxing legend Muhammad Ali would be awarded the
Presidential Medal of Freedom, the country's highest civil

Bush will honor the recipients at a White House ceremony on
November 9. The medal was established in 1963 and is awarded
for contributions to the security or national interests of the
United States, world peace, or cultural or other significant

Greenspan, who is scheduled to retire on January 31 after
18 years as Fed chief, "has been an extraordinary leader who
has made great contributions to America's economic growth and
prosperity," the White House said in the announcement from
Argentina, where Bush is attending a summit of the Americas.

Ali, the first three-time heavyweight boxing champion of
the world, was called "one of the greatest athletes of all

Gen. Richard Myers, former chairman of the Joint Chiefs of
Staff, was lauded for preparing the armed forces for new
threats in one of the most dangerous periods in American
history. "His tenure was marked by the toppling of brutal
dictatorships in Afghanistan and Iraq and the liberation of
more than 50 million people," the White House said.

Also to receive the medal is Paul Rusesabagina, who
sheltered people at the hotel he managed during the 1994
Rwandan genocide. "Mr. Rusesabagina's selfless acts have
inspired millions, and he represents the best of the human
spirit," the White House said.

Others who will be awarded the medal are golfer Jack
Nicklaus, entertainer Carol Burnett, software code designers
Vinton Cerf and Robert Kahn, historian Robert Conquest, singer
Aretha Franklin, actor Andy Griffith, radio personality Paul
Harvey, former congressman Sonny Montgomery, and baseball
player Frank Robinson.