Quantcast
Last updated on April 17, 2014 at 8:50 EDT

Passenger jet slides off runway at Chicago airport

December 8, 2005

CHICAGO (Reuters) – A Southwest Airlines Boeing 737 with 98
people on board slid off a runway at Chicago’s Midway Airport
after landing in a snowstorm on Thursday, crashed through a
fence and ended up across a road, CNN reported.

There were no immediate reports of injuries on the plane,
which had flown from Baltimore. One person was initially
reported as injured in a car that collided with the plane. The
plane’s nose was resting on the ground.

Ambulances and fire trucks rushed to the scene, in the
northwest corner of the airport, which is surrounded by roads
and a residential area.

Television footage showed the plane intact.

The Federal Aviation Administration said on its Web site
that Midway Airport closed at 8:16 p.m. CST (0216 GMT) because
of the accident. It said the airport was expected to reopen on
Friday at 6 a.m. CST (1200 GMT).


Source: reuters