Egg Recall Affects 34 States
February 5, 2012

Egg Recall Affects 34 States

A Minnesota-based food company is recalling more than a million hard-cooked eggs distributed to 34 states after testing of the product revealed possible contamination from Listeria monocytogenes bacteria.

Diane Sparish, a spokeswoman for Michael Foods, said in statement to the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) that 15,000 pails of eggs in brine, sold for institutional use, were being recalled due to contamination.

The FDA said the eggs were produced at the company´s Wakefield, Nebraska facility and were bought by food distributors and manufacturers and sold directly to retailers. It said on Thursday it has not received any reports of illness so far.

Listeria can cause serious and sometimes fatal infections in young children, frail and elderly people, and those with weakened immune systems. In most cases, Listeria can cause high fever, headache, stiffness, nausea, abdominal pain and diarrhea.

Listeria from cantaloupes caused an outbreak last year that sickened 146 people across 28 states, according to CBS News´ HealthPop. The CDC declared that outbreak over in December.

Sparish told the Associated Press in an email that the company determined that a repair project in a packaging room at its Wakefield, Nebraska plant was the likely source of the egg contamination, and the company has taken a number of corrective steps to address the issue to prevent recurrence.

The recall affects eggs sold under the brand names Columbia Valley Farms, GFS, Glenview Farms, Papetti´s, Silverbrook and Wholesome Farms, the FDA said.

Only lot codes immediately preceded by a “1” and ending in a “W” are affected in the recall. The FDA said a recall of three lot dates was announced on Thursday, January 26, but the recall was expanded today to include additional lot dates as a precaution.

The egg recall includes the following 34 states: Alabama; Arkansas; Arizona; California; Colorado; Florida; Georgia; Iowa; Illinois; Indiana; Kansas; Kentucky; Louisiana; Michigan; Minnesota; Missouri; Mississippi; Montana; North Carolina; North Dakota; Nebraska; New Jersey; Nevada; Ohio; Oklahoma; Oregon; Pennsylvania; South Carolina; Tennessee; Texas; Utah; Washington; Wisconsin; and West Virginia.

Consumers who believe they may have purchased products affected by the recall, or who are unsure, should contact the original place of purchase, the FDA said.


On the Net: