July 2, 2008

Call Open for Nominations for Nationally and Internationally Influential Texas Medical Educators

TIAA-CREF and The Health Museum (also known as the John P. McGovern Museum of Health & Medical Science) are soliciting statewide nominations for the 2008 TIAA-CREF Distinguished Medical Educator Award (www.tiaa-crefaward.org).

The TIAA-CREF Distinguished Medical Educator Award annually honors teaching physicians, nurses and other healthcare professionals who have a long history of significant contributions to medical education and have nationally and internationally influenced medical education. Eligible 2008 nominees are medical (teaching physician) or non-medical (nurse, doctorate or equivalent professional designation) who exemplify the highest standards of leadership, guidance and dedication in medical education both professionally and personally.

To honor those who have made long-term investments in the lives of others, TIAA-CREF and The Health Museum will jointly recognize the recipient at an award ceremony in fall of 2008. The recipient will receive a $10,000 cash honorarium and 20 scholarships will be donated in the recipient's name to children attending The Health Museum's Mini Medical School Summer Camp.

The 2008 recipient will follow in the footsteps of the previous recipients:

-- 2004 - Dr. Ralph D. Feigin, J.S. Abercrombie Professor of Pediatrics and Chairman of the Department of Pediatrics at the Baylor College of Medicine and the Physician-in-Chief for Texas Children's Hospital;

-- 2005 - Dr. Herbert L. Fred, Professor of Medicine at the University of Texas Health Science Center in Houston;

-- 2006 - Dr. Frank C. Arnett, Jr., Professor of Internal Medicine and Elizabeth Bidgood Chair in Rheumatology at The University of Texas Medical School at Houston; and

-- 2007 - Dr. Denton A. Cooley, president and surgeon-in-chief of the Texas Heart Institute.

"TIAA-CREF is honored to recognize these educators whose life work advances the greater good," said Mike Noone, Managing Director, Institutional Client Services at TIAA-CREF. "Through their contributions to future physicians and nurses, these individuals have had far reaching influence on medical research and education and greatly impacted the quality of healthcare in Texas."

The 2008 steering committee, established to govern the award and evaluate nomination entries, is comprised of some of the industry's top health professionals, including:

-- Dr. Bobby Alford, Chancellor, Baylor College of Medicine;

-- Dr. John C. Baldwin, President, Texas Tech University Health Sciences;

-- Dr. L. Maximilian Buja, Executive Vice President of Academic Affairs, the University of Texas Health Science Center Houston Medical School;

-- Dr. Lewis E. Foxhall, Vice President for Health Policy, Office of Physician Relations, The University of Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer Center;

-- Dr. Willis C. Maddrey, Executive Vice President for Clinical Affairs at UT Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas;

-- Dr. Roderick E. McCallum, Vice President for Academic Affairs, Texas A&M Health Science Center

-- Dr. Michael Speer, Medical Director of Quality and Outcomes Management at Texas Children's Hospital;

-- Dr. Patricia Starck, Dean of UT School of Nursing at Houston; and

-- Dr. Pamela Watson, Dean, UT Medical Branch School of Nursing.

The deadline for nominations is August 1, 2008. To nominate a distinguished medical educator, visit http://www.tiaa-crefaward.org or contact Melissa Campbell at 713-523-7900 for more information.


TIAA-CREF (www.tiaa-cref.org) is a national financial services organization and the leading provider of retirement services in the academic, research, medical and cultural fields with $420 billion in combined assets under management (3/31/08).

TIAA-CREF Individual & Institutional Services, LLC and Teachers Personal Investors Services, Inc., members FINRA, distribute securities products. (C)2008 Teachers Insurance and Annuity Association-College Retirement Equities Fund, New York, NY 10017.