October 7, 2008

Recent Winners of Nobel Prize for Medicine

Recent winners of Nobel Prize for Medicine

STOCKHOLM, Oct. 6, 2008 (Xinhua) -- The following are the winners of the Nobel Prize in Medicine since 2000:

2008: Harald zur Hausen (Germany), Francoise Barre-Sinoussi ( France) and Luc Montagnier (France);

2007: Mario Capecchi (the United States), Oliver Smithies (U.S.), and Martin Evans (Britain);

2006: Andrew Z. Fire (U.S.), Craig C. Mello (U.S.);

2005: Barry J. Marshall (Australia), J. Robin Warren (Australia);

2004: Richard Axel (U.S.), Linda B. Buck (U.S.)

2003: Paul C. Lauterbur (U.S.) and Peter Mansfield (Britain);

2002: Sydney Brenner and John E. Sulston (Britain), H. Robert Horvitz (U.S.);

2001: Leland Hartwell (U.S.), Timothy Hunt and Paul Nurse ( Britain);

2000: Arvid Carlsson (Sweden), Paul Greengard and Eric Kandel (U.S.).

(c) 2008 Xinhua News Agency - CEIS. Provided by ProQuest LLC. All rights Reserved.