Philip A. Pizzo Named Board Chair of Association of Academic Health Centers

September 25, 2009

WASHINGTON, Sept. 25 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ — Philip A. Pizzo, MD, dean of the school of medicine at Stanford University, was elected chair of the board of directors of the Association of Academic Health Centers today.

Dr. Pizzo has a distinguished career in academe and government and is nationally recognized for his contributions as a clinical investigator, especially in the treatment of children with cancer and HIV. Before joining Stanford in 2001, Dr. Pizzo was the physician-in-chief of Children’s Hospital in Boston and chair of the Department of Pediatrics at Harvard Medical School. Dr. Pizzo also had a distinguished career in government, holding several positions at the National Cancer Institute from 1973 to 1996, including Chief of Pediatrics, Head of Infectious Diseases, and acting scientific director for the Division of Clinical Services. Dr. Pizzo received the Outstanding Service Medal of the U.S. Public Health Service in 1995. He is the author of more than 500 scientific articles and 14 books. Dr. Pizzo is a member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences, where he also serves on the Council. “I am pleased and honored to have the opportunity to work under the leadership of Dr. Pizzo,” said Dr. Steven A. Wartman, AAHC President and CEO. “He is a gifted leader with impressive insight into all aspects of academic medicine and health care.”

Larry J. Shapiro, MD, Washington University executive vice chancellor for medical affairs and dean of the School of Medicine, president of Washington University Medical Center, and the Spencer T. and Ann W. Olin Distinguished Professor, was elected to the position of chair-elect of the AAHC Board.

An internationally renowned research geneticist and pediatrician, Dr. Shapiro is recognized for his significant research in human genetics, molecular biology, and biochemistry. Prior to his appointments at Washington University in 2003, Dr. Shapiro was the W.H. and Marie Wattis Distinguished Professor and chair of the Department of Pediatrics at the University of California, San Francisco School of Medicine. Dr. Shapiro has served on numerous national and professional boards; he was president of the American Society of Human Genetics and the American Board of Medical Genetics. He is a member of the Institute of Medicine (IOM) of the National Academy of Sciences and currently serves on the IOM Council.

Newly elected to the board for three-year terms are Victor J. Dzau, MD, chancellor for health affairs, Duke University, and president and CEO, Duke University health System; Raymond S. Greenburg, MD, PhD, president, Medical University of South Carolina; and Harold M. Maurer, MD, chancellor, University of Nebraska Medical Center. Elected for a one-year term is Harold L. Paz, MD, senior vice president for health affairs, dean of the College of Medicine, and chief executive officer, The Milton S. Hershey Medical Center, The Pennsylvania State University.

The AAHC is a national non-profit association dedicated to advancing the nation’s health and well-being through the vigorous leadership of academic health centers.

SOURCE Association of Academic Health Centers

Source: newswire

comments powered by Disqus