AdvaMed 2010 Keynote Speakers Announced

September 28, 2010

FDA Commissioner, CMS Administrator, CBS Evening News Anchor, and U.S. Secretary of Commerce are Featured Speakers

WASHINGTON, Sept. 28 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ — AdvaMed 2010 is proud to announce its conference keynote speakers include: Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services Administrator Dr. Donald Berwick; CBS Evening News Anchor Katie Couric; U.S. Food and Drug Administration Commissioner Dr. Margaret Hamburg; and U.S. Secretary of Commerce Gary Locke. Each will address hundreds of national and international medical device and technology leaders in Washington, D.C. October 18-20 during AdvaMed 2010: The MedTech Conference.

“We are pleased that so many of today’s policy leaders and news makers will address AdvaMed 2010,” said Stephen Ubl, president and CEO of the Advanced Medical Technology Association (AdvaMed) as he announced elements of the AdvaMed 2010 (www.AdvaMed2010.com) program. “Our keynote speakers directly impact the policies that regulate, reimburse, and allow us to export our technologies, as well as those that advocate the benefits of these life changing innovative medical technologies and devices. We look forward to hearing their remarks, showing them our innovations, and participating in a constructive and engaging dialogue.”

AdvaMed 2010: The MedTech Conference will open on Monday, October 18 with a series of Executive Workshops. Workshop topics range from bringing medical devices to the U.S. market to harmonization and an entrepreneurship bootcamp. AdvaMed 2010 encompasses 39 educational panels, 62 innovative company presentations, more than 70 exhibiting companies, and a series of sector and industry networking events.

The first AdvaMed 2010 keynote address will take place on Tuesday, October 19, 2010 at the Walter E. Washington Convention Center. The 7:30 am keynote will feature Dr. Donald Berwick, Administrator of the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS). Dr. Berwick has an extensive background in health policy and medicine. A key task for Berwick, as CMS Administrator, will be implementing the newly passed healthcare reform law known as the Affordable Care Act. Tuesday afternoon Katie Couric, the anchor and managing editor of the CBS Evening News with Katie Couric, will address conference attendees and patient advocacy groups at 12:15 pm. Well known for her accomplished career in journalism, Couric also is recognized as one of the leading spokeswomen for colorectal cancer awareness. She has played an instrumental role in the Stand Up To Cancer effort and has long been an advocate for preventative medical measures that can save lives. She will be joined on the stage with CBS Evening News Medical Correspondent, Dr. Jonathan LaPook.

Dr. Margaret Hamburg, Commissioner of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration will offer the Wednesday, October 20 morning keynote address. Hamburg is a nationally and internationally recognized leader in public health systems and is expected to address the new direction of the FDA under her leadership, particularly with regard to the medical device industry. The FDA’s Center for Devices and Radiological Health (CDRH) is responsible for regulating firms who manufacture, repackage, re-label, and/or import medical devices sold in the United States, and regulates medical radiation-emitting electronic products. Later that day, The U.S. Secretary of Commerce Gary Locke will discuss his efforts to expand exports of medical devices and technologies and grow jobs in the U.S.

“In addition to these dynamic plenary speakers, I am pleased to note that we will again host a series of CEO’s Unplugged sessions on the AdvaMed 2010 Spotlight Stage,” said Ubl. “These industry thought-leaders will tackle everything from ethics and compliance to supply chain and legislative policy issues.”

    AdvaMed 2010 CEOs Unplugged participants include:
    Mike Berg, VP, Supply Chain and Logistics, Cardinal Health
    Jeffrey R. Binder, President & CEO, Biomet, Inc
    Douglas C. Bryant, President & CEO, Quidel Corporation
    David Cassak, Vice President, Content & Managing Director, Medical
     Devices, EBI
    E.V. Clarke, EVP, Supply Chain, Owens & Minor, Inc.
    Sam Chawla, Executive Director, UBS Investment Bank
    Tim Dugan, Managing Partner, Water Street Healthcare Partners
    Vincent A. Forlenza, President, BD
    Alex Gorsky, Worldwide Chairman Medical Device & Diagnostics Executive
     Committee, Johnson & Johnson
    William A. Hawkins, Chairman & CEO, Medtronic, Inc.
    Stephen P. MacMillan, President & CEO, Stryker Corporation
    James V. Mazzo, President, Abbott Medical Optics Inc.
    Daniel Meron, Partner, Latham & Watkins, LLP
    Michael R. Minogue, Chairman, President & CEO, Abiomed, Inc.
    Michael A. Mussallem, Chairman & CEO, Edwards Lifesciences Corporation
    Caroll H. Neubauer, Chairman & CEO, B. Braun Medical Inc.
    Daniel P. O'Day, COO, Diagnostics Division & Member of the Corporate
     Executive Committee, Roche
    Timothy A. Pratt, EVP, CAO, General Counsel & Secretary, Boston
     Scientific Corporation
    Timothy M. Ring, Chairman & CEO, C. R. Bard, Inc.
    Mark J. Robinson, Partner, Centerview Partners
    Stephen J. Ubl, President & CEO, AdvaMed

To learn more about the AdvaMed 2010 program, visit www.AdvaMed2010.com

About AdvaMed

AdvaMed member companies produce the medical devices, diagnostic products and health information systems that are transforming health care through earlier disease detection, less invasive procedures and more effective treatments. AdvaMed members range from the largest to the smallest medical technology innovators and companies. For more information, visit www.advamed.org.

SOURCE AdvaMed 2010; AdvaMed

Source: newswire

comments powered by Disqus