EMBO Recognizes 63 Researchers for Advances in Life Sciences

October 28, 2010

The European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO) today announced the recognition of outstanding research contributions by 63 life scientists from 14 countries.

(PRWeb UK) October 27, 2010

The European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO) today announced the recognition of outstanding research contributions by 63 life scientists from 14 countries. The researchers are awarded the life-long honour of EMBO membership, joining almost 1500 of the world’s leading molecular biologists.

“EMBO Members are the basis for the organization’s international reputation and our most valuable asset,” said Maria Leptin, EMBO Director. “We welcome this year’s group of exceptional scientists and look forward to their fresh input and ideas to advance the life sciences.”

Each year, the EMBO membership nominates and elects new members based on scientific excellence. Forty-nine from

this year’s election work in countries across Europe and become EMBO Members. Fourteen of those elected work in the United States, Japan and Taiwan and are honoured as EMBO Associate Members. International mobility has been key for many of the new members and associate members as they progressed in their scientific careers, fostering innovative and collaborative research globally.

The 63 scientists represent a broad cross-section of research covering classical areas of molecular biology as well as rapidly developing fields such as systems biology, neuroscience and cancer biology. Many of them bridge across a number of fields, from biology to medicine, biochemistry or biophysics. Twelve female researchers are recognized this year.

By their involvement with the organization’s activities, the selected researchers will help shape the direction of the life sciences in Europe. More than half of the EMBO Members contribute by serving on advisory editorial boards of the organization’s four scientific journals, mentoring young researchers, providing expertise to EMBO programmes and taking the lead on new initiatives. Members also nominate candidates for the annual EMBO Gold Medal award.

A list of the newly elected EMBO Members and Associate Members accompanies this announcement. They will be welcomed into the EMBO community at the EMBO Members’ Workshop to be held in Heidelberg in autumn 2011.


Anna Akhmanova, Netherlands

Judith Patricia Armitage, United Kingdom

Jürg Bähler, United Kingdom

Yves Barral, Switzerland

Michael Bate, United Kingdom

Roland Beckmann, Germany

Michel Bornens, France

Nick Brown, United Kingdom

Keith Caldecott, United Kingdom

Jason W. Chin, United Kingdom

Tim Clausen, Austria

Vincent Colot, France

Maria Pia Cosma, Spain

Gideon J. Davies, United Kingdom

Ilan Davis, United Kingdom

Stefanie Dimmeler, Germany

Patrik Ernfors, Sweden

Marie-Anne Felix, France

Dominique Ferrandon, France

Jiri Friml, Belgium

Rudolf Glockshuber, Switzerland

Keith Gull, United Kingdom

Douglas Hanahan, Switzerland

Michael Häusser, United Kingdom

Karl-Peter Hopfner, Germany

Laurent Keller, Switzerland

Ulrike Kutay, Switzerland

Karim Labib, United Kingdom

Ernest Laue, United Kingdom

Thomas Laux, Germany

Elena A. Levashina, France

Carlos López-Otín, Spain

Zachary F. Mainen, Portugal

Andreas Radbruch, Germany

Freddy Radtke, Switzerland

Nikolaus Rajewsky, Germany

Erez Raz, Germany

Carol Robinson, United Kingdom

Giampietro Schiavo, United Kingdom

Ton N.M. Schumacher, Netherlands

Irmgard Sinning, Germany

Holger Stark, Germany

Michel O. Steinmetz, Switzerland

Sharon Tooze, United Kingdom

Miltos Tsiantis, United Kingdom

Malcolm White, United Kingdom

Kenneth H. Wolfe, Ireland

John Wood, United Kingdom

Arturo Zychlinsky, Germany


Shizuo Akira, Japan

Elizabeth H. Blackburn, United States

Roger J. Davis, United States

Andrew Z. Fire, United States

Jeffrey Friedman, United States

Elaine Fuchs, United States

Michael R. Green, United States

Thomas M. Jessell, United States

Robert Martienssen, United States

Thomas D. Pollard, United States

Clifford Tabin, United States

Robert A. Weinberg, United States

Chi-Huey Wong, Taiwan, Province of China

Shinya Yamanaka, Japan

For more information, please visit http://www.EMBO.org.


For the original version on PRWeb visit: http://www.prweb.com/releases/prweb2010/10/prweb4703664.htm

Source: prweb

comments powered by Disqus