December 28, 2010

Obama Admin Rewards States For Increasing Medicaid Enrollment

States increasing enrollment of uninsured children in Medicaid are receiving significant "performance bonuses," HHS Secretary Kathleen Sebelius announced Monday.

Sebelius said that 15 states have been awarded a share in more than $206 million for their progress in enrolling uninsured children in Medicaid.

That is more than double the $75 million given to 10 states in 2009.

Performance guidelines were established by CHIPRA in order for states to qualify to receive a bonus.

First, states must show that they are taking significant steps to streamline enrollment and renewal processes, making it easier for families to receive coverage.

Second, states must document a significant increase in the number of children enrolled in Medicaid; states with more than 10 percent above the baseline qualify for a higher performance bonus.

Additionally, states had to adopt at least five program features that would encourage the enrollment and retention of eligible children.

States receiving bonus awards include: Alabama, Alaska, Colorado, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Maryland, Michigan, New Jersey, New Mexico, Ohio, Oregon, Washington state and Wisconsin.  A complete list of state award amounts is included below. Awards vary by state according to a formula set out in CHIPRA but total more than $200 million this fiscal year.

"We are pleased to be able to work in partnership with states as they continue to improve their Medicaid and CHIP programs and make them more accessible for families," said Cindy Mann, deputy administrator of the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) and director of the Center for Medicaid, CHIP and Survey & Certification (CMCS).  "The increase in both the number of states receiving awards and the amount distributed is particularly encouraging given the difficult economic times states are facing."

State award amounts today are (in millions):

Alabama: $54,965,407
Alaska: $4,408,789
Colorado: $13,671,043
Illinois: $14,962,171
Iowa: $6,760,901
Kansas: $2,578,099
Louisiana: $3,555,853
Maryland: $10,549,086
Michigan: $9,268,552
New Jersey: $8,788,959
New Mexico: $8,533,431
Ohio: $12,376,346
Oregon: $15,055,255
Washington: $17,607,725
Wisconsin: $23,076,127

Total: $206,157,744


On the Net: