January 24, 2007

University of Oklahoma College of Medicine Alumni Association to Present Annual Awards

By Joan Gilmore

Each year, the University of Oklahoma College of Medicine Alumni Association presents awards recognizing Oklahomans who have provided outstanding medical and community service. The black-tie event - Evening of Excellence - benefits the Association's Research Fund.

This year's dinner, 23rd in a series, is scheduled at 6:30 p.m. Thursday in the National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum. Honorees will be David W. Parke II and University of Oklahoma President David Boren and his wife, Molly Boren.

Reservations are $200 per person.

In the previous 22 years, the dinner has provided almost $1 million, which is presented in grants to physicians and researchers at the Oklahoma Health Center. The Evening of Excellence is a joint venture of the Health Center and the Alumni Association and recognizes outstanding leaders from the business and medical communities.

Parke is chair of the Department of Ophthalmology and holds the Edward L. Gaylord Endowed Chair at the center. He also is president and CEO of the Dean A. McGee Eye Institute, one of the nation's largest facilities devoted solely to research, clinical care and education in ophthalmology and vision science.

A graduate of Stanford University and Baylor College of Medicine, Parke completed residency training at Baylor College of Medicine, serving as chief resident.

Parke is a fellow of the American Academy of Ophthalmology and received its Honor Award in 1989 and its Senior Achievement Award in 1998.

His wife, Julie T. Parke, is interim chair of the Department of Neurology and holder of the Chair in Child Neurology at the Oklahoma Health Center. They have three children - Will, a fourth-year medical student at Baylor College of Medicine; Laura, an analyst for Corporate Executive Board; and Lindsey, a junior at Wake Forest University.

David Boren became OU's 13th president in 1994. Since then, the College of Medicine campus alone has added four major new buildings, research funding has soared, scholarship endowments reached $10 million and the number of endowed faculty positions climbed to nearly 120.

Before becoming OU president, Boren was a state legislator, governor of Oklahoma and three-term U.S. senator.

Boren graduated from Yale University in 1963 and was selected as a Rhodes Scholar, receiving a master's degree from Oxford University in 1965. He received a law degree from the OU College of Law in 1968.

He and Molly Shi Boren, a teacher, lawyer and judge, were married in 1978. She received her master's degree in English in 1971 and her law degree in 1974 from OU. The next year, she became one of the youngest judges in Oklahoma history when she was appointed special district judge for Pontotoc County.

The first woman to serve as a member of the Oklahoma Bar Association's board of trustees, she recently accepted the position as president of the Oklahoma Arts Institute, the state's official school of the arts, having served as a board member for 15 years. The institute was created during her husband's term as governor. Their children are U.S. Rep. Dan Boren and Carrie Boren, an Episcopal minister in Los Angeles.

Evening of Excellence honorees

Honorees this year on Thursday will be David L. Boren, president of OU; his wife, Molly Shi Boren; and David W. Parke II, president and CEO of the Dean A. McGee Eye Institute.

Former honorees in the category of Distinguished Medical Service are Don O'Donaghue, 1985; George Garrison, 1986; Gerald Rogers, 1987; George S. Bozalis, 1988; Tullos O. Coston, 1989; G. Rainey Williams, 1990; Robert G. Tompkins, 1991; Stewart G. Wolf Jr., 1992; Mark A. Everett, 1993; Thomas E. Acers, 1994; John R. Alexander, 1995; Don F. Rhinehart, 1996; Ronald C. Elkins, 1997; John R. Bozalis, 1998; James L. Dennis, 1999; Edward N. Brandt Jr., 2000; Ed L. Calhoon, 2001; Robert Smith Ellis, 2002; James D. Funnell, 2003; R. Timothy Coussons, 2004; Ted Clemens Jr., 2005 and Gary F. Strebel, 2006.

Recipients of the Distinguished Community Service recognition have been Dean A. McGee, 1985; Stanton L. Young, 1986; John E. Kirkpatrick, 1987; Mary Eddy Jones, 1988; Richard D. Harrison, 1989; Edward L. Gaylord, 1990; Edward C. Joullian III, 1991; John S. Gammill, 1992; Paul Travis, 1993; Sarah Hogan, 1994; Gov. George Nigh, 1995; James G. Harlow Jr., 1996; James R. Tolbert III, 1997; Jim and Christy Everest, 1998; Gov. Henry Bellmon, 1999; Mex Rodman Frates, 2000; Jean G. Gumerson, 2001; Ann Simmons Alspaugh, 2002; H.E. Gene Rainbolt, 2003; Libby and G.T. Blankenship, 2004; James B. Harlow, 2005; and Josephine W. Freede, 2006.

On occasion, the Evening of Excellence will recognize a medical institution for its service. Those include Oklahoma Medical Research Foundation, 1990; Presbyterian Health Foundation, 1991; Children's Medical Research, 1992; Oklahoma Center for the Advancement of Science and Technology, 1994; Oklahoma City Community Foundation, 1995; Oklahoma Blood Institute, 1999; Donald W. Reynolds Foundation, 2000; Dean A. McGee Eye Institute, 2001; Charles and Lynn Schusterman Family Foundation, 2002; The Merrick Foundation, 2003; University Hospital Authority and Trust, 2005, and the Harris Foundation, 2006.

- Joan Gilmore

(c) 2007 Journal Record - Oklahoma City. Provided by ProQuest Information and Learning. All rights Reserved.