Quantcast

Swiss Adventurer Crosses the English Channel on Jet Wing

September 26, 2008

By THE ASSOCIATED PRESS

DOVER, England – A Swiss adventurer using a jet-propelled wing has flown across the English Channel from France in less than 10 minutes.

Yves Rossy landed safely in a field near Dover today. He leapt from a plane at an altitude of more than 8,800 feet, fired up his jets and made the 22-mile trip from Calais, France, to Dover, England.

He began the flight just before 1207 GMT (8:07 a.m. EDT); by 12:15 GMT (8:15 a.m. EDT), Rossy was above British soil and looped over onlookers before opening his parachute, with his wings still strapped to his back.

(c) 2008 Charleston Daily Mail. Provided by ProQuest LLC. All rights Reserved.




comments powered by Disqus