November 19, 2008

Fla. voters wrote in Clinton, Colbert

Officials in Duval County, Fla., said 736 write-in ballots were cast in the presidential election for Hillary Clinton, Steven Colbert and other non-candidates.

Supervisor of Elections Jerry Holland's office said Clinton, the Democratic senator from New York, was the top write-in presidential vote-getter, while former presidential contenders Rep. Ron Paul, R-Texas; former Arkansas Gov. Mike Huckabee; former Massachusetts Gov. Mitt Romney; former Sen. Fred Thompson, R-Tenn.; and former New York Mayor Rudy Giuliani also received write-in shows of support for their stalled presidential bids, WJXT-TV in Jacksonville, Fla., reported Wednesday.

Other names written in by those not satisfied with President-elect Barack Obama or his Republican opponent, Sen. John McCain, R-Ariz., included TV comedian Steven Colbert, Republican vice presidential nominee Sarah Palin, Jesus, God, Donald Duck, Mickey Mouse and Florida Gators quarterback Tim Tebow.

Holland's office said Bill Clinton, Joe the Plumber, Theodore Roosevelt, Bill O'Reilly, Tiger Woods, Bobby Bowden, Tommy Chong, Willie Nelson, Homer Simpson and John Doe each received one vote for president.

Additionally, the office said several voters simply wrote none of the above in the presidential write-in section of their ballots.

The only person who officially registered as a write-in presidential candidate with the Florida Division of Elections, Gary Nettles, received 932 votes in Duval County.