American Nuclear Society Honors Michael Corradini with Arthur Holly Compton Award in Education

June 23, 2012

Compton Award recognizes outstanding contributions to education in nuclear science and engineering.

LaGrange Park, IL (PRWEB) June 22, 2012

American Nuclear Society (ANS) member Michael L. Corradini, PhD, has been named the recipient of the Arthur Holly Compton Award in Education, ANS President Eric Loewen, PhD, announced today. Loewen will present the award to Corradini during the opening session of the ANS Annual Conference: “Nuclear Science and Technology: Managing the Global Impact of Economic and Natural Events,” being held June 24-28 in Chicago, Illinois.

“This award recognizes outstanding contributions to education in nuclear science and engineering,” said Loewen. “My generation of nuclear professionals has stood on the shoulders of early giants. Michael Corradini–who served as my thesis advisor–is one of those giants in thermal hydraulics and severe accidents. His dedication to challenging and inspiring the next generations continues to this day in advancing our understanding to harness the wonder of the atom.”

The Arthur Holly Compton Award in Education recognizes the following achievements:

Michael L. Corradini– For his excellence in teaching and his dedication and leadership in development and support of nuclear engineering education at the national level.

Corradini is a Professor in the Department of Engineering Physics, University of Wisconsin-Madison. His research interests are centered primarily in thermal hydraulics and multiphase flow, and he emphasizes the areas of reactor operation, reactor safety, reprocessing and risk assessment. He is chair of the Energy Institute faculty governance committee and the director of the college’s Wisconsin Institute of Nuclear Systems.

Corradini is the incoming ANS President. He serves with Dr. Dale Klein as co-chair of the ANS Special Committee on Fukushima. He is a past recipient of the ANS Young Members Achievement Award and is an ANS Fellow.

The ANS Education and Training Professional Division (ETD) established the Arthur Holly Compton Award in 1966 to recognize and encourage outstanding contributions to education in nuclear science and engineering. The award was named to honor Arthur Holly Compton, whose groundbreaking research and teaching had great influence on the development of quantum theory and whose service as leader of the “Metallurgical Laboratory” in Chicago directly influenced the development of Chicago Pile-1, the first man-made nuclear reactor. The award is funded through an endowment by the wife of Edward Malinckrodt, Jr. and by George E. Malinckrodt, and is administered by ETD.

For more information about the ANS conference, visit http://www.ans.org. For information about ANS Honors and Awards, visit http://www.new.ans.org/honors/.

Established in 1954, ANS is a professional organization of engineers and scientists devoted to the peaceful applications of nuclear science and technology. Its 11,600 members come from diverse technical backgrounds covering the full range of engineering disciplines as well as the physical and biological sciences. They are advancing the application of these technologies to improve the lives of the world community through national and international enterprise within government, academia, research laboratories and private industry.

For the original version on PRWeb visit: http://www.prweb.com/releases/prwebAmerican-Nuclear-Society/Michael-Corradini/prweb9628817.htm

Source: prweb

comments powered by Disqus