Sara N. Ortwein to Chair TAMEST’s Industry and Community Affiliates Committee

January 15, 2013

The Academy of Medicine, Engineering and Science of Texas (TAMEST) announces the appointment of Sara Ortwein, president of ExxonMobil Upstream Research Company (URC), as chair of their Industry and Community Affiliates (ICA) Committee.

Austin, Texas (PRWEB) January 15, 2013

Sara N. Ortwein, president of ExxonMobil Upstream Research Company (URC), has been appointed chair of the Industry and Community Affiliates (ICA) Committee of The Academy of Medicine, Engineering and Science of Texas (TAMEST).

ExxonMobil´s URC is primarily responsible for research and development of differentiating and proprietary industry-leading technologies to support ExxonMobil´s upstream activities worldwide. Ortwein has been president of ExxonMobil´s URC and a member of the ICA Committee since September 2010.

“As a native Texan, I look forward to leading this committee and collaborating with a wide range of topic experts to achieve a common understanding of current challenges facing the state,” said Ortwein.

TAMEST is the organization of Texas´ National Academies (IOM, NAS, NAE) members, founded in 2004 by Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison and Nobel Laureates Dr. Michael S. Brown and the late Dr. Richard E. Smalley to strengthen the state´s research community. TAMEST´s ICA Committee serves as a vehicle for forming strategic partnerships for the purpose of advancing Texas as a national leader in science and technology. The ICA Committee works with the TAMEST leadership to identify areas for collaborative partnerships with members, TAMEST´s 16 member institutions, and private industry.

ICA Committee members include state leaders from major Texas companies, research institutions, and foundations. New members joining in 2013 include Dr. Larry Faulkner, president emeritus of UT Austin, Patrick Balthrop, president and chief executive officer of Luminex Corporation, and Norbert Dittrich, president of the Welch Foundation.

Texas Water Management–A Path Toward Sustainable Solutions

On January 17, 2013, in conjunction with TAMEST´s 10th Annual Conference in Dallas, the ICA Committee is organizing an industry forum on Texas´ water future. Attendees will include representatives from major industry sectors, regulatory agencies, and academic institutions. The forum is designed to help identify sector-specific needs and explore how academia, industry, and professional organizations can collaborate on efforts to help meet the challenges posed by this issue of critical importance to the state.

“Sara Ortwein´s leadership and vision will prove invaluable as we examine the best science and technological solutions for meeting Texas´ water security,” said Dr. William R. Brinkley, 2012 TAMEST President. “We look forward to engaging with all stakeholders who depend on effective and efficient management of state water resources.”

“Effective management of water resources is just one of many critical issues the ICA committee will be exploring to best plan for the state´s future economy, health, and well-being of its residents,” noted Ortwein.    


The Academy of Medicine, Engineering and Science of Texas(TAMEST) was founded in 2004 to provide broader recognition of the state´s top achievers in medicine, engineering, and science, and to build a stronger identity for Texas as an important destination and center of achievement in these fields. Members include Texas´ 10 Nobel laureates and 250+ National Academies members. TAMEST brings the state´s top scientific, academic, and corporate minds together to further position Texas as a national research leader. TAMEST also hopes to foster the next generation of scientists and to increase the awareness and communication among the state´s best and brightest about research priorities for the future.

# # #

For the original version on PRWeb visit: http://www.prweb.com/releases/prweb2013/1/prweb10315674.htm

Source: prweb

comments powered by Disqus