Geothermal Awards Announced As GRC Annual Meeting Opens on Sunday

September 18, 2013

Best and Brightest of the Global Geothermal Community Honored at the 37th GRC Annual Meeting in Las Vegas

Las Vegas, Nevada, USA (PRWEB) September 18, 2013

The Geothermal Resources Council (GRC), the world’s premier geothermal association, has announced awards honoring the best and brightest of the global geothermal energy community. These prestigious awards have been a highlight of the geothermal calendar since the late 1970's.

The GRC will present its prestigious Aidlin, Henry J Ramey Jr., Ben Holt, Pioneer, and Special Achievement awards at its Annual Membership Meeting & Awards Luncheon, the climax to the GRC Annual Meeting, at the MGM Grand in Las Vegas on Wednesday, October 2.

"The recipients of these awards often have a lifetime of achievement in the geothermal academic, scientific and commercial communities," said GRC Executive Director Steve Ponder. "The GRC Awards recognizes the contributions of these individuals to the geothermal sector."

The award winners are:

Joseph W. Aidlin Award

Lucien Y. Bronicki

For lifetime achievement in the advancement of geothermal energy worldwide and for steadfast support of the Geothermal Resource Council.

Geothermal Pioneer Award

Gustavo Cuéllar

For pioneering and continuous contributions to the development of Central America's geothermal resources.

Henry J Ramey Jr. Award

Subir K. Sanyal

For lifetime achievements in geothermal reservoir engineering worldwide.

Ben Holt Award

Kenneth A. Phair

For significant contribution to engineering works on geothermal power plant design.

Geothermal Special Achievement Award

Ingvar Birgir Fridleifsson

For effective and steadfast efforts to educate, train and mentor new generations of geothermal experts.

Geothermal Special Achievement Award

Doone Wyborn

For outstanding contributions to the understanding and development of Engineered Geothermal Systems.

Geothermal Special Achievement Award

Connie and Bernie Karl

For acknowledgement of accomplishments at Chena Hot Springs and of steadfast support advancing interest in and development of geothermal resources.

Geothermal Special Achievement Award

William Cumming

For outstanding contributions in improving the use of geophysical methods and conceptual models in the evaluation and development of geothermal resources.

For more information about the GRC Annual Meeting & GEA Geothermal Energy Expo at the MGM Grand in Las Vegas, Nevada, USA, visit http://www.geothermal.org/meet-new.html or call (530) 758-2360.


About the Geothermal Resources Council:

With the experience and dedication of its diverse, international membership bolstering a more than 40-year track record, the Geothermal Resources Council has built a solid reputation as the world’s preeminent geothermal association. The GRC serves as a focal point for continuing professional development for its members through its outreach, information transfer and education services.

For more information, please visit http://www.geothermal.org.

Get your daily geothermal news at Global Geothermal News [geothermalresourcescouncil.blogspot.com]. Become a fan on Facebook [ facebook.com/GeothermalResourcesCouncil]. Follow GRC on Twitter [@GRC2013 & @GRC2001]. Check out GRC’s YouTube Channel [ youtube.com/GeothermalCouncil]. See geothermal photos on GRC’s Flicker page [ flickr.com/photos/geothermalresourcescouncil].


For the original version on PRWeb visit: http://www.prweb.com/releases/2013/9/prweb11128430.htm

Source: prweb

comments powered by Disqus