NSF Announces More Than $49 Million In Sustainable Chemistry, Engineering And Materials Science Awards
October 25, 2013

NSF Announces More Than $49 Million In Sustainable Chemistry, Engineering And Materials Science Awards

National Science Foundation

From waste prevention to energy-efficient design to safer manufacturing processes and substitutes for rare natural resources, sustainability considerations are key to meeting projected global needs and encouraging a safer tomorrow.

It is likely then that National Chemistry Week 2013 would choose a theme of "Energy: Now and Forever! Exploring chemistry and energy with a focus on sustainable resources." This is a good opportunity for the National Science Foundation (NSF) to announce its inaugural awards for the Sustainable Chemistry, Engineering and Materials (SusChEM) initiative that invests $49 million in 101 groups of scientists and engineers.

Started in 2012 as an interdisciplinary initiative, SusChEM focuses on aspects of chemistry, engineering and materials in sustainable research and aims to support the discovery of new science and engineering that will provide humanity with a safe, stable and sustainable supply of chemicals and materials sufficient to meet future global demand. While NSF has historically supported this kind of research, the SusChEM initiative elevates this interest to a high priority.

"NSF is proud to be able to support these investigators who not only propose cutting-edge science but also portray a strong commitment to preparing a diverse STEM workforce dedicated to addressing critical needs in global sustainability," said Jackie Gervay-Hague, director of the Chemistry Division in the Directorate for Mathematical and Physical Sciences. "These are the scientists who will endeavor to make the world a better place for future generations."

SusChEM is a program under the umbrella of NSF-wide Science, Engineering and Education for Sustainability (SEES) that the agency created in 2010 as an initiative to support the discovery of new knowledge to help solve global sustainability issues.

In particular, SEES has promoted an integrated, interdisciplinary approach for sustainability challenges involving social, economic and environmental aspects. SusChEM was created in partial response to the mandate of the America COMPETES Reauthorization Act of 2010, which states that NSF should establish a "Green Chemistry Basic Research program" to provide "sustained support" for "research into green and sustainable chemistry which will lead to safe, clean, and economical alternatives to traditional chemical products and practices" as well as green chemistry education and technology transfer. After workshops, webinars and meetings with the scientific community, the SusChEM initiative was born and announced to the community on June 26, 2012, through a "Dear Colleague Letter."

The following is a list of the lead investigators for the SusChEM awards. For more information on these awards, visit the NSF Award Abstracts Database, and enter 'SusChEM' in the "Search Award for" field.

Paul Anastas, Yale University
Largus Angenent, Cornell University
Eray Aydil, University of Minnesota
Jillian Banfield, University of California-Berkeley
Veronica Barone, Central Michigan University
Christopher Bielawski, University of Texas at Austin
Joseph Biernacki, Tennessee Technological University
Janet Bluemel, Texas A&M University
Andrew Bocarsly, Princeton University
Shannon Boettcher, University of Oregon Eugene
Stephen Bradforth, University of Southern California
Christopher Bradley, Mount St. Mary's University, Md.
David Cann, Oregon State University
Burjor Captain, University of Miami
John Caradonna, Trustees of Boston University
Yves Chabal, University of Texas at Dallas
Eugene Chen, Colorado State University
Shaowei Chen, University of California-Santa Cruz
Xi Chen, University of California-Davis
Paul Chirik, Princeton University
Phillip Christopher, University of California-Riverside
Silas Cook, Indiana University
Dennis Curran, University of Pittsburgh
Marcetta Darensbourg, Texas A&M University
Michael Doherty, University of California-Santa Barbara
Guangbin Dong, University of Texas at Austin
John Dorgan, Colorado School of Mines
Marc Edwards, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
William Evans, University of California-Irvine
Matthew Fields, Montana State University
Alison Flatau, University of Maryland College Park
John Gilbertson, Western Washington University
Martin Green, Materials Research Society, Pa.
Christopher Hartley, Miami University, Ohio
Gregory Hillhouse, University of Chicago
Eric Hoek, University of California-Los Angeles
Liangbing Hu, University of Maryland College Park
Frieder Jaekle, Rutgers University Newark
Elizabeth Jarvo, University of California-Irvine
David Jenkins, University of Tennessee Knoxville
Li Jia, University of Akron
Christopher Jones, Georgia Tech Research Corporation
Matthew Kanan, Stanford University
Erdogan Kiran, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Brian Korgel, University of Texas at Austin
Robert Lad, University of Maine
Brian Laird, University of Kansas Center for Research Inc
Gojko Lalic, University of Washington
M. Tyler Ley, Oklahoma State University
Peter Lovine, University of San Diego
Janet Macdonald, Vanderbilt University
Frederick MacDonnell, University of Texas at Arlington
Jakob Magolan, University of Idaho
E. Neil Marsh, University of Michigan Ann Arbor
Mark Mascal, University of California-Davis
Robert Mathers, Pennsylvania State University
Jeanne McHale, Washington State University
Jennifer McIntosh, University of Arizona
Jose Menendez, Arizona State University
Stephen Miller, University of Florida
Liviu Mirica, Washington University
John Montgomery, University of Michigan Ann Arbor
Janet Morrow, SUNY at Buffalo
Alexandra Navrotsky, University of California-Davis
Christopher Nomura, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry
Aaron Odom, Michigan State University
Paul Van Patten, Middle Tennessee State University
Christie Peebles, Colorado State University
Jeanne Pemberton, University of Arizona
Hrvoje Petek, University of Pittsburgh
Jeffrey Pyun, University of Arizona
Anthony Rappe, Colorado State University
Jonathan Rochford, University of Massachusetts Boston
Ashaki Rouff, CUNY Queens College
Chang Ryu, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, N.Y.
Daniel Seidel, Rutgers University New Brunswick
Randall Snurr, Northwestern University, Ill.
Ponisseril Somasundaran, Columbia University
Nancy Sottos, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Christopher Stanton, University of Florida
Susanne Striegler, University of Arkansas
Bala Subramaniam, University of Kansas Center for Research Inc
Meng Tao, Arizona State University
T. Don Tilley, University of California-Berkeley
Adam Veige, University of Florida
Israel Wachs, Lehigh University, Pa.
Timothy Warren, Georgetown University
Rory Waterman, University of Vermont & State Agricultural College
Robert Waymouth, Stanford University
Steven Wheeler, Texas A&M University Main Campus
Ruqian Wu, University of California-Irvine
Judith Yang, University of Pittsburgh
Yuan Yao, Purdue University
Huiming Yin, Columbia University
Zhanping You, Michigan Technological University
Michael Zdilla, Temple University
Qiming Zhang, University of Texas at Arlington
Yong Zhang, Stevens Institute of Technology
Viktor Zhdankin, University of Minnesota Duluth
Nan Zheng, University of Arkansas
Julie Zilles, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign


On The Net: