July 2, 2008

Four Outstanding People Awarded Hong Kong’s Top Honor

Four outstanding people awarded Hong Kong's top honor

HONG KONG, July 1 (Xinhua) -- Four outstanding persons -- Andrew Li Kwok-nang, Henry Hu Hung-lick, Cheng Yu-tung and Chan Sui-kau -- Tuesday were awarded Hong Kong's top honor Grand Bauhinia Medal.

The Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) government published in the HKSAR Government Gazette here Tuesday the list of this year's awardings, which covered a total of 269 recipients.

A presentation ceremony for the awards will be held later this year, tentatively in October 2008.

The gazette recognized the Grand Bauhinia Medal recipient, Chief Justice of the Court of Final Appeal Andrew Li Kwok-nang's distinguished public service, particularly her significant contribution in ensuring the successful implementation of the new constitutional order under the "One Country, Two Systems" concept.

Henry Hu Hung-lick was recognized by the government gazette for his life-long dedication and contribution to public and community service, particularly in broadening the tertiary education opportunities of the younger generation by establishing Hong Kong Shue Yan University which is the first private university in Hong Kong.

According to the gazette, Cheng Yu-tung, chairman of the New World Development Company Limited, is awarded the GBM for his distinguished public and community service, in particular his significant contribution to the development and innovation of the jewelry manufacturing industry. He has also been active in charitable activities and has set up the "Cheng Yu Tung Foundation " which has made numerous donations to educational projects in Hong Kong, the Chinese mainland and overseas.

Chan Sui-kau was recognized for his life-long dedication to the promotion and development of the textiles and clothing industry in Hong Kong. Chan is also active in charitable activities and has been keen to support and promote education in Hong Kong and in the Chinese mainland, according to the HKSAR government gazette.

Deceased fireman Wong Ka-hei has been posthumously awarded and his colleague Chin Kwok-ming awarded Gold Medal for Bravery for their utmost act of bravery in the Tsuen Wan industrial building fire in May this year.

The 2008 Honors List is the 11th full Honors List since Hong Kong's return to its motherland. Eight people - Cheng Yiu-tong, Liao Cheung-sing, Cheung Kin-tung, Fong Ching, Lam Chung-lun, Leung Wong Bei-fong, Wong Chi-yun and Wu Ting-yuk - will receive the Gold Bauhinia Star award.

This year also saw 24 awarded with Silver Bauhinia Star and nine Distinguished Service Medals for the disciplined services and the Independent Commission Against Corruption (ICAC). A total of 45 people were named Bronze Bauhinia Star recipients, one were awarded the Bronze Medal for Bravery, 47 got Meritorious Service Medals for the disciplined services and the ICAC, and 74 were given the Medal of Honor.

For the Chief Executive's Commendation for Community Service, 38 people were named, and another 19 took the Chief Executive's Commendation for Government/Public Service.

(c) 2008 Xinhua News Agency - CEIS. Provided by ProQuest Information and Learning. All rights Reserved.