August 2, 2008

Awards Recognize 2008 Excellence in Multifamily Housing Achievements Awards Recognize 2008 Excellence in Multifamily Housing Achievements

The Virginian-Pilot

The Tidewater Multifamily Housing Council presented its Awards of Excellence July 24 at the Virginia Beach Convention Center.

Accolades came during the industry's Associates' Showcase, Awards Banquet and Registered in Apartment Management Graduation.

Awards of Excellence are presented to outstanding South Hampton Roads properties based myriad criteria, including the year of the property's completion, signage, maintenance and landscaping. Merit Awards are presented to individuals for outstanding performance.

The local industry's top individual accolade, the Lifetime Achievement Award, went to William Halprin, senior vice president of S.L. Nusbaum Realty Co. in Norfolk. The award is presented to a multifamily housing executive who has made a recognizable and identifiable difference in multiple facets of the multifamily housing industry.

Halprin has more than 29 years of experience in multifamily management and is responsible for 17,000-plus units throughout Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Florida.

As senior vice president he oversees all professions in management from vice president to compliance director. He is treasurer of the Tidewater Builders Association, under which the Tidewater Multifamily Housing Council falls and meets the needs of 110 member firms .

The council's Executive of the Year honor went to Christopher J. Dembitz, director of property management for Clark Whitehill Enterprises Inc. in Virginia Beach.

The award honors the multifamily executive who has excelled in multifamily management, and demonstrated outstanding service and dedication to his company, the multifamily industry profession and the council.

He supports the council's educational endeavors .

The 24th annual awards event, which drew more than 500 members and guests, also honored 58 graduates of TMHC's Registered in Apartment Management, or RAM, program.

These apartment professionals took their first step towards earning their RAM designations by successfully completing the council's 40-hour RAM School.

The 2008 RAM School graduates, by company, are: Apartment Gallery, Lauren Sanders; Bonaventure Property Management, Mike Dore; Drucker & Falk, Lauren Turner; Frye Properties, Tammi Melvin and Alamond Stith; Harbor Group Management Corp., Laura Gonder and Linda Semaria; KPM LLC., Karen Allen, Sindi Bastidas, Jennifer Brundage, Malissa Harris, Nikki Johnson, Felicia Lee, Randi McIntosh, Cristina Salgado and Tiffany Sisamouth.

Also, Lawson Realty, Alexis Benjamin, Sheri Beverly, Franchesca Bland, Pamela Brice, Crystal Browne, Steve Chase, Danyelle Evans, Kim Lee, Shannon Lee, Derrick Lewis, Tamaira Long,Alesha Mitchell, Teala Rufener, Kandi Sykes, Douglas Taylor Jr. and Jenna Wright; and Norfolk Redevelopment, Anita Roberts.

Also, Ripley-Heatwole Co. Inc., Nicole Myles and Lance Sanderlin; S.L. Nusbaum, Kimberly Barnes, LaTonya Bentancourt, Cindy Fugere, Ashlee Hill, Sarah Larsen, Edna Luckens, Devan MacConnell, Patricia Mason, Holly Moye, Angela Nesbitt, Sheryl Pastrana and Jocelyn Sidwell; W.H.H. Trice Co., Cesar Acosta, Kelvin Bethea, Robert Flanagais, Walter Hill, Seth Keel, Keith Miller and Bruce Sheene.

Also graduating were Laura Altizer, Tiffany Dennis, Cheri Meyers and Angela Parker.

Tidewater Builders Association is a nonprofit trade organization founded in 1953 . It serves the professional needs of its 1,200- plus member firms in South Hampton Roads and the Eastern Shore of Virginia.

TBA also offers consumer information at

Communities completed as of 2001 and after The Crossings at Red Mill, Drucker & Falk, Virginia Beach

Communities completed between 1996 and 2000 Tallwood Apartments, Ripley Heatwole Co. Inc., Virginia Beach

Communities completed between 1991 and 1995 Dominion Pines, S. L. Nusbaum Realty Co., Chesapeake

Communities completed between 1986 and 1990 Westwinds Apartments, Ripley Heatwole Co. Inc., Portsmouth

Communities completed between 1981 and 1985 Holly Point Apartments, Drucker & Falk LLC, Chesapeake

Communities completed between 1976 and 1980 Greenbrier Woods Apartments, Clark-Whitehill Enterprises Inc., Virginia Beach

Subsidized Property Award Park Terrace, S. L. Nusbaum Realty Corp., Norfolk

Seniors housing communities completed as of 1995 and after Orchards at Belleville Harbour, S.L. Nusbaum Realty Co., Suffolk

Seniors housing communities completed before 1995 Old Donation, Ducker & Falk LLC, Virginia Beach

Renaissance Award communities completed between 1971 and 1975 Harpers Square, Lawson Realty, Virginia Beach

Renaissance Award communities completed between 1966 and 1970 Thalia Gardens, S. L. Nusbaum Realty Corp., Virginia Beach

Renaissance Award communities completed between 1961 and 1965 Colonial Arms Apartments, S. L. Nusbaum Realty Corp., Virginia Beach

Renaissance Award communities completed before 1960 Bondale Apartments, Drucker & Falk LLC, Norfolk

The 2008 Merit Awards winners are:

Lifetime Achievement Award William Halprin, S. L. Nusbaum Realty Company, Norfolk

Multifamily Executive of the Year Christopher Dembitz, Clark Whitehill Enterprises, Virginia Beach

Associate Member of the Year John Casone, HD Supply, Virginia Beach

Gordon A. Poole Regional Manager of the Year Vivian Bryant, Ripley Heatwole Co. Inc., Virginia Beach

Peggy B. Cowan Property Manager of the Year with more than 300 units Kelly Roper, Lawson Realty, Virginia Beach

Peggy B. Cowan Property Manager of the Year with less than 300 units Sara Ogle, S.L. Nusbaum Realty Co., Norfolk

The Apartment Book Leasing Consultant of the Year Cindy Fugere, S.L. Nusbaum Realty Co., Virginia Beach

Maintenance Supervisor of the Year Dean Brinson, Drucker & Falk LLC, Virginia Beach

The Rebecca Hughes/Sam Shetsul Maintenance Employee of the Year Aubrey Perry, S.L. Nusbaum Realty Co.

The Associates Showcase Exhibit Awards were:

Best use of theme (Rock the Vote) American Furniture Rentals

Best costume Verizon Fios

Best product display HD Supply the honorees

(c) 2008 Virginian - Pilot. Provided by ProQuest Information and Learning. All rights Reserved.