Utah State History Announces Awards

September 29, 2008

Utah State History has announced its award winners, in conjunction with its annual September conference.

— This year’s “Outstanding Achievement Award” winners are:

–Stratford Hotel, Salt Lake City, for a renovation that combines affordable housing, mixed use, livability, sustainability and historic preservation.

–Utah State Capitol, for one of the finest, most meticulous major preservation projects ever completed in the United States.

–Salt Lake Tabernacle, for preserving and enhancing the historic fabric while protecting the building seismically.

— The “Outstanding Contribution Award” winners are:

–Roy D. Tea, for 48 years of researching, photographing and marking California Trails in Western states.

–Gibbs Smith of Gibbs Smith Books, for many years of publishing Utah history, including textbooks.

–Karen Krieger of the Utah Division of State Parks, for her commitment to preserving, interpreting and providing public access to cultural artifacts.

— The William P. MacKinnon Award for Staff Development went to: Arie Leeflang, archaeology records manager for State History.

— Publication award winners:

–Dale L. Morgan Award for the best scholarly article in the Utah Historical Quarterly in 2007: Richard Ian Kimball, “The Right Sort to Bring to the City: Jack Johnson, Boxing, and Boosterism in Salt Lake City.”

–Charles Redd Center for Western Studies Award for the best general-interest article in UHQ in 2007: Benjamin Harris, “In Deed and in Word: The Anti-Apartheid Movement at the University of Utah, 1978-1987.”

— Nick Yengich Memorial Award for the UHQ article selected as editors’ choice: Robert Parson, “Leftward March: Student Liberalism at the Utah State Agricultural College.”

— Best Utah Historic Article Award for an article appearing in a publication other than the Utah Historical Quarterly: Ted Moore, “Democratizing the Air: the Salt Lake Women’s Chamber of Commerce and Air Pollution, 1936-1945.”

— Helen Papanikolas Award for the best college student’s paper on Utah women’s history: Jenny Reeder, “Representative Women of Deseret: Strategic Re-imaging of American Victorian Female Respectability.”

— Smith-Pettit Foundation Best Documentary Book on Utah History Award: B. Carmon Hardy, “Doing the Works of Abraham: Mormon Polygamy: Its Origin, Practice, and Demise.”

— Francis Armstrong Madsen Best Utah History Book Award: Frederick H. Swanson, “Dave Rust: A Life in the Canyons.”

— Honorary Life Member: Linda Thatcher, retired Research and Collections Coordinator for State History.

— Utah State Historical Society Fellows: B. Carmon Hardy and Gary Shumway.

(c) 2008 Deseret News (Salt Lake City). Provided by ProQuest LLC. All rights Reserved.

comments powered by Disqus