October 2, 2008

Transport Committee Meets


THE inaugural meeting of the Southland Regional Transport Committee was held at Environment Southland yesterday.

All of Southland's councils are represented on the committee, as well as advocates for economic development, public health, access and mobility, environmental sustainability and cultural interests.

One role of the committee is to prepare an annual report on the progress of the Regional Land Transport Strategy, due in September annually.

Environment Southland consultant Mike O'Cain said much of the committee's function was planning a sustainable future for transport in the region, including moving freight off roads and on to sea and rail.

The committee would also have to prioritise the projects that were most important, Mr O'Cain said.

"It's more than just buying into new projects, but also making the best of the existing infrastructure we have." Committee members are Stuart Collie (chairman), Neil McPhail, Geoff Piercy, Brian Dillon, Nicky Davis, Mark O'Connor, Paula Hedges, Eddie McKenzie, Teri McClelland and Don Mowat.

(c) 2008 Southland Times, The. Provided by ProQuest LLC. All rights Reserved.