October 17, 2008

E.T. Horn Names Jeff Martin As President, Adds Two Employees to Board of Directors

The E.T. Horn Company's Board of Directors has elected Jeff Martin as President and expanded the Board from five to seven members with the addition of Bob Ahn and Kevin Salerno. Board Chairman Gene Alley announced the changes will be effective November 1.

Employee-owned, E.T. Horn is a leading distributor, manufacturer and marketer of specialty chemicals. Founded in 1961, the company provides formulation solutions, superior customer service and technical expertise in distributing products from the finest manufacturers.

"Through the years, we have been able to develop and retain a strong management team which we are fully confident will lead E.T. Horn into the future. These changes, as we conclude our most successful year yet, are in line with planning for that future," Alley said.

Jeff Martin joined E.T. Horn in 1989 and currently serves as President of the Industrial Division which includes Coatings and Advanced Materials. Jeff worked in sales for Dow Chemical Company and BASF Corporation before he came to E.T. Horn. He graduated from the University of Michigan with a bachelor of science in Chemical Engineering in 1984 and earned his masters of Business Administration at Pepperdine University in 1990.

Martin is a member of the Los Angeles Society of Coatings Technology, Federation Society of Coatings Technology, National Paint and Coatings Association and Society for the Advancement of Materials and Process Engineering.

Bob Ahn is E.T. Horn's Vice President-Sales of Coatings and Building Materials. He joined E.T. Horn in 1996 after working with Kronos and Dow Chemical Company. He earned a bachelor of science degree in Premed/Biology and Business Administration from the University of Southern California and masters of business administration from Claremont Graduate School.

Ahn has served on the boards of directors of the Federation Society of Coatings Technology and the Los Angeles Society of Coatings Technology where he has been president, vice president, treasurer and secretary.

Kevin Salerno is President of the E.T. Horn Nutraceutical Group and Nutri Granulations. He joined E.T. Horn in 2000. He was sales director for Capital Management Sciences, Bond Analytics, and business development manager for American Ingredients, LLC, before joining Horn. Salerno is active in several industry associations including the Drug Chemical Associated Technologies Association, Pacific Technology Exchange and the Institute of Food Technologists. He attended Marquette University and Arizona State University. In Arizona, he played baseball for the Sun Devils.

Longtime E.T. Horn leaders, Alley and Pat Marantette, who has served as President since 1991, will continue to mentor the management team. As Chairman, Alley will devote his time to capital structure opportunities. Marantette will remain very active with the National Association of Chemical Distributors while continuing his mentoring activities with management staff.

"This is an exciting time for E.T. Horn, and a nostalgic time for the two of us having had the privilege of working with our company's very beginnings," Alley said. "We could not be happier to see the next generation ready and well-equipped to take the reins and guide us into the future."

Alley's career with E.T. Horn started in 1961 and he was a 49 percent owner and Executive Vice President when the company was sold to the Dutch company, Van Ommeren, in 1986. Founder E.T. Horn served as president until his death a year after the sale to Van Ommeren. Alley and Marantette, who joined the company in 1975, purchased the company back from Van Ommeren in 1991. Today, the company is over 60 percent owned by employees through the Employee Profit Share Plan and is committed to becoming 100 percent employee owned.

Both Alley and Marantette have been active in local and national industry organizations with Marantette serving as Chairman of the National Association of Chemical Distributors and being named "Outstanding Distributor of the Year" for his service and receiving the prestigious Vanguard award for service to the Chemical Education Foundation.