Celebrities, Best-Selling Authors, Famous Illustrators to Fete Newcomers at Anniversary Gala in Hollywood

April 15, 2011

Evening to include a special presentation by Dr. Pete Worden, Center Director NASA Ames Research Center

Los Angeles, CA (PRWEB) April 14, 2011

Twelve winning writers and twelve illustrators from around the globe will be honored during the 27th Annual L. Ron Hubbard Achievement Awards at the Roosevelt Hotel””the same location where the first Academy Awards were held””on Sunday, May 15th, 2011. (http://www.writersofthefuture.com)

The highlight of the ceremony will be the announcement of the year’s two Grand Prize winners who will each receive $5,000. Quarterly winners also receive cash prizes from $500 to $1,000. Their winning stories and illustrations will appear in the annual anthology L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers and Illustrators of the Future, Volume 27 (Galaxy Press, 2011).

Participating in the ceremony will be (in order alphabetically) best-selling authors Kevin J. Anderson, Doug Beason, Gregory Benford, Eric Flint, Nina Kiriki Hoffman, Yoji Kondo, Rebecca Moesta, Larry Niven, Jerry Pournelle, Tim Powers, Mike Resnick, Kristine Kathryn Rusch, Robert J. Sawyer, KD Wentworth and Dave Wolverton as well as award-winning illustrator judges Laura Brodian Freas, Stephen Hickman, Ron and Val Lindahn and Cliff Nielsen who will serve as presenters along with new illustrator contest judge Robert Castillo. The evening will include a special presentation from Dr. Pete Worden, Center Director NASA Ames Research Center.

Throughout the contests’ 27-year history, over 600 writers and illustrators have been honored. “By our best estimates,” says New York Times’ best-selling author Anderson (Dune prequels, The Edge of the World), “Contest winners have published more than 700 novels and 3,000 short stories. Many have appeared on the New York Times bestseller list, even reaching the #1 slot.”

The Writers of the Future writing contest (http://www.writersofthefuture.com) was initiated by L. Ron Hubbard in 1983 to provide a means for aspiring writers to get that much-needed break. Due to the success of the Writing Contest, the companion Illustrators of the Future Contest was created in 1988.

“The Writers and Illustrators of the Future Contests have proven to be the most effective means for contestants to make their break in the publishing industry, an industry renowned for being closed to the newcomer,” said Joni Labaqui, director of the contests. “That’s why the Writing Contest and Illustrating Contest were created ““ because it’s so hard to get published and there are so many talented people who give up on their dreams to see their works in print.”

For more information about Writers of the Future, go to http://www.writersofthefuture.com.

For reservations contact Joni Labaqui at 323-466-3310 or jonil(at)authorservicesinc(dot)com. All media must RSVP.


For the original version on PRWeb visit: http://www.prweb.com/releases/prweb2011/04/prweb5250194.htm

Source: prweb

comments powered by Disqus