Quantcast
Last updated on April 18, 2014 at 9:14 EDT

SLOOH To Feature Live Feed Of Uranus And Harvest Moon Tonight

September 29, 2012
Image Caption: This is an image of the planet Uranus taken by the spacecraft Voyager 2 in 1986. Credit: PD-USGOV-NASA.

Lee Rannals for redOrbit.com – Your Universe Online

“I can see Uranus!” You could say that very phrase if you log on to Slooh Space Camera on Saturday night to get a glimpse of Uranus and the Harvest Moon.

Slooh.com said it will be broadcasting live observatory feeds of Uranus and the full moon starting at 4:00 p.m. pacific time, 7:00 p.m. eastern.

Uranus is the seventh planet from the Sun, and lies about 1.787 billion miles away. It takes 83 Earth years for Uranus to complete one orbit.

The planet’s atmosphere is mostly made up of hydrogen and helium, but it also contains a small amount of methane gas.

Uranus features a ring system, 27 moons, and was visited by Voyager 2 back in 1986. It was first discovered in 1781 by astronomer William Herschel.

In order to get a great view of Uranus at night, astronomers need to point their telescope just below the moon, and look for the only green “star” in the field of view.

“The Harvest Moon is widely misunderstood,” columnist Bob Berman said in a statement. “Its behavior is unique, and yet its appearance is no different from any other full Moon. That will be one major focus of Saturday night´s live coverage. As for Uranus, with its singular green color and wild axial tilt, its permanent overcast never allows us to see markings of any kind, and yet its story is nothing short of fascinating.”

Viewers who miss Saturday’s show of the full moon and Uranus will be able to get another peak at it on Sunday night starting at 7:00 p.m. pacific time, or 10:00 p.m. eastern time.


Source: Lee Rannals for redOrbit.com - Your Universe Online