New Trio Joins Expedition 33 Astronauts Aboard Space Station
October 26, 2012

New Trio Joins Expedition 33 Astronauts Aboard Space Station

[NASA VIDEO: New Crewmates Welcomed Aboard Station]

Lawrence LeBlond for - Your Universe Online

After successfully docking the Soyuz TMA-06M spacecraft to the Poisk module at 8:29 a.m. EDT Thursday morning, Expedition 33 Commander Sunita Williams and Flight Engineers Aki Hoshide and Yuri Malenchenko welcomed the new trio of astronauts to the International Space Station (ISS).

Flight Engineers Kevin Ford, Oleg Novitskiy and Evgeny Tarelkin arrived at the space lab after spending two days in orbit inside their Soyuz capsule. The team launched on Tuesday morning from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan.

Williams, Hoshide and Malenchenko have been residing at the ISS since July 17, and have been the only three aboard the station since Expedition 32 crew departed on September 17, 2012. Williams and her team are set to depart the station on November 12, and will hand the reigns over to Ford, who will become Commander of Expedition 34.

This is Ford´s second mission to the orbiting lab, last arriving on the space shuttle Discovery during STS-128. It is Novitskiy and Tarelkin´s first missions in space. Once taking command of the station on November 12, Ford and his team will remain as Expedition 34 until their departure in March 2013.