April 10, 2013

2013 Einstein Fellows Chosen

NASA has announced the selection of the 2013 Einstein Fellows who will conduct research related to NASA's Physics of the Cosmos program, which aims to expand our knowledge of the origin, evolution, and fate of the Universe.

The Einstein Fellowship provides support to the awardees for three years, and the Fellows may pursue their research at a host university or research center of their choosing in the United States. The new Fellows will begin their programs in the fall of 2013.

The new Einstein Fellows in alphabetical order and their host institutions are listed below:

-Claude-Andre Faucher Giguere (University of California at Berkeley)
-Javiera Guedes (Princeton University, Princeton, N.J.)
-James Guillchon (Harvard University)
-Rutger van Haasteren (Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Pasadena, Calif.)
-Yan-Fei Jiang (Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory, Cambridge, Mass.)
-Tim Linden (University of Chicago)
-Mario Manuel (University of Michigan, Ann Arbor)
-Selma De Mink (Carnegie Observatories, Pasadena, Calif.)
-Krzysztof Nalewajko (University of Colorado, Boulder)
-Maria Petropoulou (Purdue University, West Lafayette, Ind.)
-Luke Roberts (California Institute of Technology, Pasadena)
-Alexander Tchekhovskoy (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Berkeley, Calif.)

Full biographies and other information about this year's Einstein Fellows are available at http://cxc.harvard.edu/fellows/fellowslist.html

More information on the Einstein Fellowships can be found at http://cxc.harvard.edu/fellows/

NASA has two other astrophysics theme-based fellowship programs: the Sagan Fellowship Program, which supports research into exoplanet exploration, and the Hubble Fellowship Program, which supports research into cosmic origins.

More information about NASA's Astrophysics Division is available at http://nasascience.gov/astrophysics


On the Net: