February 26, 2009

Members of First Six-Person Space Station Crew On NASA TV

NASA will hold a media briefing at 1 p.m. CST on Wednesday, March 4, with the four future residents of the International Space Station who will usher in an era of six-person crews living aboard the orbiting research laboratory. The increase doubles the number of people who will be living and working in space.

The briefing will originate from NASA's Johnson Space Center in Houston and will be broadcast live on NASA Television. Questions will be taken from reporters at participating NASA sites.

The briefing participants are:

  • Roman Romanenko, Soyuz commander, Expedition 20 flight engineer and Russian cosmonaut
  • Frank DeWinne, Expedition 20 flight engineer and Expedition 21 commander (the first European Space Agency astronaut to command the station)
  • Robert Thirsk, Expedition 20 and 21 flight engineer and Canadian Space Agency astronaut
  • Nicole Stott, Expedition 20 and 21 flight engineer and NASA astronaut

After the briefing, the participants will be available for photographs and individual interviews, in person or by telephone. To participate in the interviews, media should contact the Johnson newsroom at 281-483-5111 no later than 5 p.m. Friday, Feb. 27.

Romanenko, DeWinne and Thirsk will launch to the station aboard a Russian Soyuz spacecraft in May. Stott will travel to the station aboard the space shuttle Discovery in August.


On the Net: