June 2, 2010

NASA TV Airing U.S. Astronaut Hall Of Fame Induction On June 5

NASA Television will provide live coverage of the U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame 2010 induction ceremony on Saturday, June 5, at 2:30 p.m. EDT. The ceremony will take place at NASA's Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex in Florida.

Joining the hall of fame this year are former astronauts Guy Bluford Jr., the first African- American to fly in space; Ken Bowersox, pilot of the first maintenance mission to restore NASA's Hubble Space Telescope; Frank Culbertson Jr., commander of the first space shuttle night landing at Kennedy; and Kathy Thornton, a mission specialist during the first three-person spacewalk flight.

Jon Cryer, Emmy Award winning comedian in the TV series "Two and a Half Men," is hosting the event. NASA Administrator and former astronaut Charles Bolden will introduce one of the inductees.

For more information about the U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame, visit: http://www.kennedyspacecenter.com

For biographies of Bluford, Bowersox, Culbertson and Thornton, visit: http://www.jsc.nasa.gov/Bios/astrobio_former.html

For NASA TV downlink information, schedules and links to streaming video, visit: http://www.nasa.gov/ntv