March 15, 2009

Purdue wins the Big Ten Tournament

E'Twaun Moore's 17 points and four rebounds Sunday led Purdue to a 65-61 win over Ohio State and the Big Ten Conference title at Indianapolis.

Purdue had to rally back from a 30-25 halftime deficit against the upstart and young Buckeyes, who learned after the loss they would not be going to the NCAA Tournament.

Moore scored eight points, six on 3-pointers, to give Purdue a 50-43 lead with 10:02 left, and the closest Ohio State came was 58-55 with 1:33 left.

JaJuan Johnson scored 16 with four rebounds, while Robbie Hummel added nine points, 11 rebounds and five assists for the Boilermakers (25-9), who were playing in the title game for the first time since the conference started playing a tournament in 1998.

Evan Turner led OSU with 22 points, 10 rebounds and three steals. Jon Diebler and William Buford scored 15 points apiece for the Boilermakers (22-10), who qualified for the final after upsetting top-seeded Michigan State in Saturday's semifinals.