May 30, 2009

Texas A&M wins NCAA golf title

Bronson Burgoon of Texas A&M beat Arkansas' Andrew Landry Saturday to give the Aggies their first NCAA Division I Men's Golf Championship.

Andrea Pavan beat David Lingmerth 7 & 6 and John Hurley beat Ethan Tracy 6 & 4 to get the first two points for Texas A&M. Arkansas then had a 3 & 1 victory by Jason Cuthbertson over Matt Van Zandt and a 3 & 2 win by Jamie Marshall over Texas A&M's Conrad Shindler.

That left the final match to determine the title. Burgoon had a 4-up lead with five holes to play, but Landry won the next four holes with pars to square the match with one hold to play.

Burgoon was conceded birdie after a close approach shot at the last hole to enable Texas A&M walked to post a 3-2 victory.

Matt Hill of North Carolina State won the individual title Friday after his third straight 2-under 69.