July 31, 2009

IRL to race in Brazil next year

Indy Racing League officials announced Friday the series will conduct races for the first time next year in Brazil and Birmingham, Ala.

The IRL schedule, released Friday, calls for the first race of the 2010 season to be held in Brazil. The venue has yet to be determined.

Brazilian drivers Helio Castroneves, Tony Kanaan, Raphael Matos, Vitor Meira and Mario Moraes currently drive in the series.

The race in Birmingham will be held April 11 at Barber Motorsports Park.

We couldn't be more pleased with the diversity of the schedule as it will help us maintain a championship tradition that has been exciting for both competitors and fans, said Brian Barnhart, president of competition and operations for the IRL.

Races in Milwaukee and Richmond, Va., were dropped from the schedule.