October 26, 2005

Krzyzewski named head coach of U.S. basketball team

TORONTO (Reuters) - Mike Krzyzewski was named head coach of
the U.S. men's basketball team through the 2008 Beijing
Olympics on Wednesday.

Krzyzewski, who led Duke University to three national
collegiate titles, becomes the first college coach to lead the
national team since professionals were allowed to compete in
the Olympics in 1992.

"For me, this is the ultimate honor in coaching,"
Krzyzewski said in a statement.

"It is a chance to represent the United States at this
elite level of basketball. I am honored to be chosen and look
forward to the opportunity to develop this team that will
represent our great country in its own sport, both on and off
the court."

Once the world's undisputed basketball superpower, U.S.
"Dream Teams" stocked with NBA talent ruled the international
game with gold medal-winning performances at the 1992, 1996 and
2000 Olympics.

That dominance has faded in recent years, the U.S. slumping
to a sixth place finish at the 2002 world championships in
Indianapolis before unhappily settling for bronze at the 2004
Summer Games in Athens.

Named the National Collegiate Coach of the Year 12 times,
Krzyzewski has been put in charge of returning the U.S. to the
top of podium starting with next year's world championships in
Japan, followed by the 2007 FIBA Americas Olympic qualifying
tournament and ultimately the 2008 Olympic.

"Our senior men's program will be tremendously served by
Mike's extraordinary capabilities and stature and his superb
leadership both on and off the court," USA Basketball president
Val Ackerman said.

"We are very proud to unite the best of professional and
college basketball as we look to reclaim our dominance in both
World Championship and Olympic competition."

One of the most successful collegiate coaches of all-time,
Krzyzewski has averaged more than 25 wins a season during his
25-year career and entering the 2005-06 season, he owns a
career record of 721-246.

Under Krzyzewski, Duke has captured three national
championships and reached the Final Four 10 times, the
third-most by any coach in NCAA history.