December 2, 2006

Area Football Captains Dominated the Line

By Stu Pospisil, Omaha World-Herald, Neb.

A pair of future major-college linemen are the honorary captains of The World-Herald's All-Omaha Area football team for non-Class A schools.

Elkhorn's Trevor Robinson can take up to a year to make his college choice. Nebraska, Notre Dame and Boston College are among those that already have offered scholarships to the 6-foot-5, 290-pound offensive tackle who played with a broken thumb in the Class B state final against champion Crete.

"He padded it up and went on, but it was too bad," Antlers coach Mark Wortman said. "here you are on display in the finals and he didn't have the game he usually had. He was a dominating force during the season.

"We'd get our short yardage running behind him and on defense, he plugged up the middle all year long. At 6-5, 290 and can move, those people are pretty rare. He's the real thing."

Gretna's Alex Stover, a 6-foot-2, 265-pounder who played linebacker, offensive guard and fullback for the Dragons, accepted an offer from Wyoming in September while turning down Ohio and Colorado State.

Stover played the season opener at nose guard, coach Jim Ryan said, but injuries forced a switch to linebacker.

"It made a big difference in our defense. People had trouble blocking him," Ryan said. "When we got other kids healthy, it was nice to move him around and opponents didn't always know where he was going to line up."

Players from 12 schools made the all-area team, chosen through observations of The World-Herald staff and nominations by high school coaches. All schools were mailed nomination forms.

Stover, Plattsmouth linebacker Spencer Kathol, Ralston receiver Mitch Montgomery and Arlington offensive lineman Conor Harper are the repeaters from the 2004 all-area team.

Elkhorn, Gretna, Ashland-Greenwood, Omaha Gross, Omaha Roncalli, Omaha Skutt and Plattsmouth have multiple selections.

Also from Elkhorn are offensive lineman Trevor Gappa, quarterback Clancy Shannon, running back Travis Bailey and defensive lineman Kevin Thomson. Stover and running back Tom Lunzman are from Gretna, defensive end Mark Powell and linebacker Andy Mink from Ashland-Greenwood, offensive lineman John Becklun and defensive lineman Jake Mueller from Gross, receiver Mark Schlueter and defensive back Aaron Handy from Roncalli, defensive end John Dooley and defensive back Nick Anderson from Skutt and offensive lineman Trevor Wilson and linebacker Spencer Kathol from Plattsmouth.

On the offensive line are Robinson, Becklun, Wilson, Gappa and Harper. Shannon, Clancy, Lunzman and Boys Town's Shane Hankins are in the offensive backfield, with Schlueter and Montgomery the receivers and Tyler Johnson of Louisville the place-kicker.

Powell, Thomson, Mueller and Dooley are the defensive front four. At linebacker are Stover, Mink, Kathol and Nick Beaty of Blair. Defensive backs are Handy, Anderson and Trevor Egbarts of Douglas County West, with Jordan Turner of Blair the punter.

All-Omaha Area


Player School Ht. Wt. Yr.

WR Mark Schlueter Omaha Roncalli 6-1 175 Sr.

WR Mitch Montgomery Ralston 6-2 190 Sr.

OL Trevor Robinson Elkhorn 6-5 290 Jr.

OL John Becklun Omaha Gross 6-3 235 Jr.

OL Trevor Wilson Plattsmouth 6-6 280 Sr.

OL Trevor Gappa Elkhorn 6-1 200 Sr.

OL Conor Harper Arlington 6-0 235 Sr.

QB Clancy Shannon Elkhorn 5-11 175 Sr.

RB Travis Bailey Elkhorn 5-10 175 Sr.

RB Tom Lunzman Gretna 5-11 173 Sr.

B Shane Hankins Boys Town 5-10 160 Sr.

K Tyler Johnson Louisville 6-2 215 Jr. Honorary captain: Trevor Robinson


Player School Ht. Wt. Yr.

DE Mark Powell Ashland-GW 6-5 205 Sr.

DL Kevin Thomson Elkhorn 6-2 245 Sr.

DL Jake Mueller Omaha Gross 6-5 230 Sr.

DE John Dooley Omaha Skutt 6-2 225 Sr.

LB Andy Mink Ashland-GW 6-3 225 Jr.

LB Nick Beaty Blair 5-11 175 Sr.

LB Alex Stover Gretna 6-2 265 Sr.

LB Spencer Kathol Plattsmouth 6-1 195 Sr.

DB Aaron Handy Omaha Roncalli 6-0 170 Sr.

DB Nick Anderson Omaha Skutt 5-11 170 Sr.

DB Trevor Egbarts Douglas Co. West 5-9 170 Jr.

P Jordan Turner Blair 5-11 190 Sr. Honorary captain: Alex Stover

Honorable Mention

--Arlington: Thomas Grove, Doug Hilzendeger, Jordan Johnson, Adam Hamre. Ashland-Greenwood: Logan Smith, Brett Sapp. Bennington: Chris Lantz, Kenny Hoge, Tyler Byrd, Ben Milliken, Craig Jewell. Blair: Skyler Luxa, Jake Crone, Mark Dutton, Eric Taylor. Boys Town: Billy Baine. Douglas County West: Durik DeLira, Mike Wiekhorst, Kyle Bertelsen, Trevor Peterson. Elkhorn: Sam Stanley, Travis O'Kane. Elkhorn Mount Michael: Pat Pick, Jake Ridder, Mark Dorman. Fort Calhoun: Nick vonKnorring, Ryan Nieto, John Kelly, Jake Sutherland. Gretna: Clint Gregory, Luke Sieburg, Nick Hartnett, Spencer Goff, Mark Mintken, Dan Janovich, Michael Pajeda, Brian Donica, Ryan Schuetz. Louisville: Nico Lemmers, Sean Ronnfeldt, Jamie Deacon, Dustin Fickler. Omaha Brownell-Talbot: Ryan Cypher, Andy Mayo, Jack Harvey. Omaha Christian: Corby Arndt, Andrew Minich. Omaha Gross: Brian Boro, John Dostal, Brandon Waszgis, Brandon Winkelmann, C.J. Zimmerer, Adam Kresl. Omaha Roncalli: Alex Stepanek, James Thompson, Nick Grosse-Rhode, Nick Langer. Omaha Skutt: Casey Carbullido, Eric Broulette, Steve Marsicek. Plattsmouth: Mike Colgrove, Cody Linder. Ralston: Jake Harral, Nick Johnson, Aaron Haave, Derek Sandel, Jake Kraus, Joe Nekola. Yutan: Kevin Heldt.


Copyright (c) 2006, Omaha World-Herald, Neb.

Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Business News.

For reprints, email [email protected], call 800-374-7985 or 847-635-6550, send a fax to 847-635-6968, or write to The Permissions Group Inc., 1247 Milwaukee Ave., Suite 303, Glenview, IL 60025, USA.