Last updated on April 18, 2014 at 17:23 EDT

ACM Turing Centenary Celebrates Technology Giants of the Digital Age

June 14, 2012

SAN FRANCISCO, June 14, 2012 /PRNewswire/ —

WHAT: The Enduring Power of Alan Turing’s Thinking Machine

  • 34 ACM Turing Award winners from the last 50 years and world-renowned computer scientists and technology pioneers discuss Turing’s legacy and his impact on their work
  • Moderated panels and invited talks on how computing has changed our world
  • Reception June 15 to follow program events

WHY: The computing community celebrates Alan Turing’s legacy 100 years after his birth. By pondering whether machines can think, Turing created the foundation for startling innovations that have changed our world: programmable computers, mobile devices, cryptology, artificial intelligence, robotics, genomics, and the philosophy of science. Through his genius, the notion of computers exceeding human intelligence has inspired researchers and realists throughout the world since the 1940s, and laid the foundation of today’s always-on, interconnected world.

WHEN: Friday, June 15, 9 a.m. – 6 p.m.; Saturday, June 16, 9 a.m. – 1:45 p.m.

WHERE: Palace Hotel, 2 New Montgomery St., San Francisco, CA 94105

WHO: Hosted by Paul Saffo – Noted futurist and commentator
Speakers include:
Vint Cerf and Bob Kahn – Turing winners, considered “Fathers” of the Internet
Alan Kay - Turing winner, innovator in transformational thinking, pioneer in personal computers
Judea Pearl – Turing winner, pioneer in Artificial Intelligence (AI)
Fran Allen - Turing winner, first woman to receive the award
Raj Reddy and Ed Feigenbaum – Turing winners, demonstrated commercial potential of AI
Charles Bachman - Turing winner, insights from Turing’s family
Ivan Sutherland - Turing winner, invented Sketchpad, led to first Graphical User Interface
Butler Lampson – Turing winner, pioneer in personal computing
David Patterson - UC Berkeley professor, innovator in computer architecture
For a complete list of speakers visit http://turing100.acm.org/index.cfm?p=awardees

About the ACM A.M. Turing Award

The A.M. Turing Award (http://amturing.acm.org) was named for Alan M. Turing, the British mathematician who articulated the mathematical foundation and limits of computing. Since its inception in 1966, the Turing Award has honored the computer scientists and engineers who created the systems and underlying theoretical foundations that have propelled the information technology industry.


Source: PR Newswire