1st Quarter Finalists Announced in International Contest for Writers

June 19, 2012

United States, United Kingdom and New Zealand Represented In This First Round of the Year

Hollywood, CA (PRWEB) June 19, 2012

In what is known as the largest contest of its kind in the world, finalists for the 1st Quarter of the 29th year of the L. Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future Contest, specializing in speculative fiction, were announced today by Joni Labaqui, contest Director.

The finalists are from Arizona, Arkansas, California, Michigan, Texas in the US and one writer from the United Kingdom and the other from New Zealand.

“This gives you the sense of how international the contest is,” Labaqui said. “We’ve had entries from 153 countries around the world since the beginning, and we always have more than one country represented every year.”


Jeremy Brink from Texas

Holly Heisey from Arizona

Marina J. Lostetter from Arkansas

Sean Monaghan from Manawatu, New Zealand

Tina Smith from California

Martin Shoemaker from Michigan

Stephen Sottong from California

Chris Stamp of Perthshire, United Kingdom    

The eight finalists stories are sent to four of the contest judges. Of those eight stories, the three with the highest points are the three winners of that quarter. There is a 1st, 2nd and 3rd place winner every quarter. The three winners are awarded cash prizes, a week long intensive workshop, an awards ceremony and are also published in the annual L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future.

A Grand Prize winner is also announced at the annual awards ceremony and is selected from another panel of judges.

“The Writers of the Future Contest is the most effective means for aspiring writers to make their break in the publishing industry,” Labaqui said. “That´s because our winners are judged by professional writers from a pool of thousands of entries worldwide.” Well-known contest judges include multiple Nebula and Hugo Award winners and finalists such as Kevin J. Anderson, Orson Scott Card, Larry Niven, Jerry Pournelle, Tim Powers, Robert J. Sawyer, Robert Silverberg, Dave Wolverton, and Sean Williams, to name a few.

“The chance of being published elsewhere in the publishing industry is much smaller,” Labaqui said. “Only three out of every 10,000 manuscripts submitted in the United States each year get published–1,800 are science fiction and fantasy novels–and most of them are written by established authors. This is one very effective way to get in the door for the newcomer.”

For more information about the contest, go to http://www.writersofthefuture.com. Or call the contest at 323-466-3310.

For the original version on PRWeb visit: http://www.prweb.com/releases/prwebWritersofTheFuture/Finalists/prweb9619640.htm

Source: prweb

comments powered by Disqus