MIT Technology Review Reveals Annual Innovators Under 35 List

August 19, 2014

CAMBRIDGE, Mass., Aug. 19, 2014 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ — Today, MIT Technology Review releases its annual list of Innovators Under 35 (www.technologyreview.com/lists/innovators-under-35). Since 1999, the global media company has annually recognized exceptionally talented young technologists whose work has great potential to transform the world.


“Over the years, we’ve had success in choosing young innovators whose work has been profoundly influential on the direction of human affairs,” says Jason Pontin, editor in chief and publisher. “Previous winners include Larry Page and Sergey Brin, the cofounders of Google; Mark Zuckerberg, the cofounder of Facebook; Jonathan Ive, the chief designer of Apple; and David Karp, the creator of Tumblr. We’re proud of our selections and the variety of achievements they celebrate.”

The 2014 List:

    Biotechnology and Medicine

    1.     Emily Balskus            Assistant Professor of Chemistry and
                                    Chemical Biology, Harvard University

    2.     Duygu Kuzum             Postdoctoral Researcher, Stanford University

    3.     Megan McCain             Assistant Professor of Biomedical
                                    Engineering, University of Southern

    4.     Maria Nunes              Head of Adhesive Technologies, Gecko
     Pereira                        Biomedical

    5.     Maryam                   Assistant Professor of Electrical
     Shanechi                       Engineering, University of Southern

    6.     Kay Tye                  Assistant Professor of Neuroscience, Picower
                                    Institute for Learning and Memory, MIT

    7.     Jonathan                 Assistant Professor of Electrical and
     Viventi                        Computer Engineering, New York University
                                    Polytechnic School of Engineering

    8.     Kathryn                  Assistant Professor of Chemical Engineering,
     Whitehead                      Carnegie Mellon University

    9.     Rumi Chunara            Instructor, Harvard Medical School

    10.   Manu Prakash              Assistant Professor of Bioengineering,
                                    Stanford University

    Computer and Electronics Hardware

    11.   Ayah Bdeir               Founder and CEO, littleBits

    12.   Palmer Luckey            Founder, Oculus VR

    13.   Fadel Adib                Ph.D. Candidate, Electrical Engineering and
                                    Computer Science, MIT CSAIL

    14.   David He                  Cofounder and Chief Scientific Officer,

    15.   Jinha Lee                 Senior Software Engineer and Head of
                                    Interactive Visualization Lab, Samsung

    16.   Julie Shah                Assistant Professor of Aeronautics and
                                    Astronautics; Leader, CSAIL Interactive
                                    Robotics Group, MIT


    17.   Miles Barr               Cofounder and CEO, Ubiquitous Energy Inc.

    18.   George Ban-               Assistant Professor of Civil and
     Weiss                          Environmental Engineering, University of
                                    Southern California

    19.   Tanuja Ganu               Technical Staff Member, IBM -India Research

    20.   Hui Wu                    Associate Professor, Tsinghua University
                                    School of Materials Science & Engineering

    21.   Sarah Kearney            Executive Director, PRIME Coalition

    Internet and Web

    22.   Aaron Levie              Cofounder and Chief Executive Officer, Box

    23.   Alex Ljung                Founder, CEO and Managing Director,

    24.   Bret Taylor              Founder and CEO, Quip

    25.   Kuang Chen               Founder and CEO, Captricity

    26.   Santiago
     Villegas Giraldo              CEO, AliadosWeb/Online Safety Project

    27.   Severin Hacker           Cofounder and CEO, Duolingo

    Nanotechnology and Materials

    28.   Emily Cole                Cofounder and Chief Science Officer, Liquid

    29.   Tak Sing Wong             Assistant Professor of Mechanical
                                    Engineering, Wyss Institute for
                                    Biologically Inspired Engineering,  Harvard

    30.   Guihua Yu                 Assistant Professor of Mechanical
                                    Engineering, University of Texas at Austin


    31.   Rand Hindi               Founder and CEO, Snips

    32.   Michael
     Schmidt                       Founder and CEO, Nutonian Inc.

    33.   Shyam                     Assistant Professor, Computer Science and
     Gollakota                      Engineering; Leader, Networks and Wireless
                                    Group, University of Washington

    34.   Quoc Le                  Research Scientist, Google Brain


    35.   Kurtis Heimerl           Founder and CEO, Endaga

This year’s honorees will be featured online at technologyreview.com starting today, and in the September/October print magazine, which hits newsstands worldwide on Sept. 2. They will also appear in person at the upcoming EmTech MIT conference, to be held from Sept. 23-25 in Cambridge, Mass. (www.EmTechMIT.com).

About MIT Technology Review
MIT Technology Review leads the global conversation about technologies that matter. An independent media company owned by MIT, it produces publications read by millions of business leaders, innovators, and thought leaders around the globe, in six languages and on a variety of platforms. The company publishes MIT Technology Review magazine, the most respected technology magazine; daily news features, analysis, and opinion; and Business Reports, which explain how technologies are transforming industries. It produces live events such as the annual EmTech MIT, international EmTech conferences, Summits, and Salons. The company’s entrepreneurial community organization, MIT Enterprise Forum, informs, connects, and coaches early-stage technology entrepreneurs so they may succeed faster.

For MIT Technology Review:
David W.M. Sweeney

Logo – http://photos.prnewswire.com/prnh/20131106/DC11309LOGO

SOURCE MIT Technology Review

Source: PR Newswire

comments powered by Disqus