Quantcast

Gingin Observatory Spots Near-Earth Asteroid

February 15, 2013

This movie shows the asteroid 2012 DA14 flying safely by Earth, as seen by the Gingin Observatory in Australia at 9:50 a.m. PST (12:50 p.m. EST/17:50 UTC), Feb. 15, 2013.

At the time of its closest approach to Earth, at approximately 11:25 a.m. PST (2:25 p.m. EST/19:25 UTC), the asteroid will be about 17,150 miles (27,600 kilometers) above Earth’s surface.

The asteroid appears streaked because the telescope was focused on the stars while the asteroid passed through the field of view.

credit: Gingin Observatory/Tonello



comments powered by Disqus